We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Food wasn't great, we were served a steak pie that looked like it came from a school canteen, bread was served without butter and the veg had been frozen and microwaved. Service was slow and could have been friendlier. The location and view, however, was amazing.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Harbour hotel on the front of a beautiful little village, stayed 4 nights last week and had a lovely time. Views from our room were fantastic unfortunately the weather wasnt kind to us and we only had 2 days of dry weather.
Breakfast very good, but one of the girls who served at breakfast did make us feel a little uncomfotable as she was asking for cooked breakfast order while we were still eating cereal, she seemed to be running around at 10 miles an hour, slow down girl, lol.
Lunch and evening menus were good and reasonably priced, as was the drinks apart from soda water which they charged at £1.20 upwards.
Would have liked to have met the owners as they have had high praise on here, but dont think they were there or if they were we wasnt aware of them.
Was disapointed that we couldnt park at hotel as only 2/3 spaces at the side, on booking.com it does state parking available.
Overall a good time

Room Tip: ask for seaview no 8
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shefx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We visited The Harbour House tonight. We arrived at 7pm with our 2 teenagers for a meal and sat in the bar area. We ordered starters and main meals. We asked at 7.50 as our main meal plates were being cleared if they were going to be putting the football on the TV in the bar - the girl went away to check and came back to say yes they were but under 18s were not allowed in the bar after 8pm.......surely we should have been told this as we sat down and placed our order.....? Would be interesting to see what they would have done if we had placed orders for desserts ....would our business be turned down or refused then.........? Doubt it. The place wasn't even busy - lots of free tables. We had to pack up quickly and leave. My husband's risotto was also hard and chalky- he didn't like to complain as my son's were treating us and he didn't want to embarrass them. Fish was lovely as were the burgers - shame about the service.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Cardun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

This is a classic hotel above, pub on the bottom floor. We stayed 2 nights and had wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is in the middle of town, right on the harbor. It has wonderful food for both dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My wife and I had a week in Portpatrick, Scotland in June this year and the second we arrived spotted this restaurant as soon as we drove into the village. so after checking into our accommodation dumped the car and headed straight for it, and what a brilliant decision it was too. The place has got a lovely ambience about with a brand new decking area outside overlooking the beautiful harbour which just complemented the food and service on offer. I had the home made curry which you could actually choose your strength, and the other half had the tuna salad and both were decent portions for the price. the staff were very friendly and helpful, which obviously prompted our decision to use the venue about 4 or 5 times that week, and also contributed to the decision that we will return to Portpatrick as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonypowis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
258 reviews
0.3 km away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
0.3 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
9.3 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
18.7 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street, Portpatrick DG9 8JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range: RM273 - RM663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing