We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Fernhill Hotel(Portpatrick)
US$252
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
US$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterfront Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunskey Guest House(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blinkbonnie Guest House(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knockniemoak B&B(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 4 Portpatrick(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
215
233
92
42
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
233
92
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidayshearings hotelssuperior roomself drivesea viewcoach tourcliff topdining roomhalf boardcoast countrylovely hotelsingle roombreakfast was buffet styleevening mealgolf coursea la carte menubar prices
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Arrived on a Shearings Coach on a Coast & Country deal, H/B, with a £25 drinks voucher each, which came in very handy. The Hotel's location is very imposing, with spectacular views of the harbour. No complaints about the food, good dinner selection, and substantial breakfast. The staff were excellent, with the bonus that they were all Scottish, which is quite unusual these days. Unfortunately the weather was not kind, particularly on our excursion up the coast to Ayr. Could only be described as a tempest, howling wind and lashing rain.This would be an ideal location for walking fans, as the Upland Way wends its way from here across Scotland. If you can get lucky weatherwise, this is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnyno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

We are very fortunate on our location. Thank you for the lovely review. Hopefully we will see you here again and hopefully you get better weather than you did this time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel at the beginning of December for a relaxing break and that was exactly what we had. We arrived just after 3pm and checked into an upgraded room with great veiws of the habour , made a drink , grabbed our books and put our feet up ( been travelling from Edinburgh and stopped off for a swim at the leisure centre in Stranraer so slightly tried). Room was very good and really cosy. It was true there were only about 24-30 guests staying for the weekend , but it did mean we didn`t have to wait too long to be served in the restaurant. We found the food good ( both dinner and breakfast ) and enjoyed it . For those of you who wish to just completely chill out or take advantage of the superb coastline , with it`s many bays and habours then this is a must . To the west you can see Ireland , to the south the Isle of Man and England . It has to be said though that the weather was superb for our visit . Plenty of walks ( we walked part of the Southern Upland Way from Stranraer to Portpatrick , you can catch the bus from Portpatrick Habour to Stranraer , then just walk back feasting your eyes on some great scenery. Overall the hotel is a fine place to stay if you are thinking of visiting the area and good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Your experience of our hotel is what we are aiming to achieve. We want all our guests to relax and enjoy the surrounding area. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review. Hopefully we may see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We took a 4 night break here in mid November and were very pleased with our chice . The hotel has a spectacular location above the port , with bracing walks and excellent views. Our break [self-drive] booked with Coast and Country was terrific value, especially with £25 each in-house credit. would definitely repeat the experience.
Thanks to all staff who were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Just back from 2 nights here. Arrived at 5.30 and were welcomed by name!! Well we were the last 4 to arrive. Very friendly man reception but I think I got the wrong name..is it Norman or Melvin?? Room fine once was heater went on. Bathroom never heated up. Food fine- love my soup and not disappointed although never saw the freshly made croutons! Only 30 of us staying but you would have thought there were 300 the way the waitress acted.
Have stayed years ago and was impressed with new lounge and dining room. Now just do the bedrooms up and we will return.
Sat out on veranda in morning...lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1206irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for the review. It was Melvin you met. Sorry you never got your croutons. I’m sure it was an oversight by the waitress who, by the sounds of it, was being over enthusiastic to please. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Like most people we travel around a bit trying different places around the UK, we stayed at this hotel last year and were a little underwhelmed by the experience. On the first trip we encountered endless waits at the bar early evening to have pre dinner drinks as no one person seemed to be on the bar, the hotel itself was quite busy and the staff seemed to be everywhere but where the crowd was. The dining experience was 'ok' but once again not quite the a la carte we were anticipating. This is an old hotel and the plumbing and heating reflect that so many may consider this to add to its charm.
Not being quitters we decided it deserved another go and went this November 2012. Its a quiet time of year and the hotel had very few guests, so having to wait in reception untill after 3pm for our room to be ready wasn't the best start its not like we wern't expected.
Once again I'm afraid the poor reception staff seemed to be doubled up as the bar staff and theirs only so long you can stand listening to someone else telephone conversation whilst waiting for a drink. On the previous visit we commented the hotel lacked any atmosphere on this visit their was none at all, no evening entertainment on the Friday so we were forced into the wind and rain to find a local with something on. We did try the dining room but sadly for me its not of a standard I would expect for the price compared to other places.
I can only say of the staff they are very pleasant and helpfull I just wish their was more of them.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must but the windows rattle !
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cityblue366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you very much for your review.
The check in time is clearly stated on booking forms. 3pm is to allow the departing rooms to be cleaned properly. If there are little or few rooms departing then we can allow guests in earlier, as we did on Monday.
We had very low occupancy levels at the weekend and hence the low staff levels and quiet atmosphere.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews