We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and peaceful but with plenty to do out and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet A
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful but with plenty to do out and about.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage had everything we needed to enjoy our stay, Wi-Fi and the swimming pool was a bonus. Although the cows were near to the cottage we didn't hear them very much. It was easy to access the cottage and park right outside. Laundry room was useful and also contained leaflets on places nearby. My two had a great day out at Laggon Activity centre which took 30 minutes in the car to get to. Wigtown was quiet but Newton Stewart (5 miles) had more to offer from a small town. All in all a brilliant holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic ”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

stayed here with my husband and my two daughters age 18yrs 9yrs for a week we needed a break for reasons i not goin to submit we arrived some time late afternoon on the sunday 8th march we were met by hazel who owns the farm she is lovely she showed us court yard cottage we were made up it has a beautiful living room and wide screen tv with built in dvd player /video player and cd player a real fire in living room /bedroom with double bed /bunk beds for small room the bunks bed are amazing its one bed against the wall with ladder and other bed under the window all real wood its not normal bunkbeds it much nicer our girls wanted to stay forever also smashing kitchen every thing you need great bathroom big bath also shower attached hazel said if there was anything we need just ask there is a wash room across from the cottage its has washing machines tumble dryer freezer also free wifi we also met ian hazel husband he shows us around the farm it was brilliant we saw two day old baby lambs also cows that licked my hand baby cow calf's also the horses my girls were made up ian really made our day he also chopped more wood for us when we needed it which was nice of him to do so jessy our nine year old met Rachel hazel and ian daughter jessy really liked her played with her when she was on the farm also has a patio doors that lead to a gorgeous garden fantastic veiws of Scottish mountain s play area with swing silde for your childen to play its also has a barn you can play basketball table tennis Babmington pool table and all other games in doors jessy love it and its safe for her to go and play there with out worrying there dvds /videos books jig saw puzzle all ages in washroom for you to use hazel and ian are very welcoming i can say so much more but i need a week at least we had brilliant time and will be goin back their again i can tell you its a fantastic place dont take my word for it go see for you self onece again thank Hazel and Ian for the best holiday we ever had xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann D
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Family Friendly”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Granary Cottage last September very much and are looking forward to staying again. The cottage was great with patio doors and a lovely picnic table where we could easily see our child playing on the swings which allowed him a great degree of freedom whilst at the same time being in view. Our eight year old son loved feeding the chickens and it was funny to watch them following him around. It is the kind of holiday that leaves you with happy memories such as our son learning to go a bike in the barn. After that there was no stopping him as we hired a bike in the Galloway Forest and off he went cycling for miles. The swimming pool was an added bonus as our son loves swimming and couldn't wait each day to get in there. We really had a super time and although we were on holiday for a month travelling all over the UK some of our fondest times were spent at Granary Cottage and the surrounding area where there is an abundance of stuff to see and do. Castle Douglas was great to visit and we loved the shops. I tried liquorice ice cream. Yum! We visited a castle, went to a local market and we even saw a wicker man in a field. For us this holiday was a great combination as we could relax at Granary Cottage which is situated on a working farm with lots of animals or we could choose from a whole range of sight seeing trips/activities to visit in the local area. We would also like to say how friendly and helpful the owner Hazel was which adds to the whole holiday experience. We look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere, swimming pool, wood burning stove, the chickens, etc
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del R
1 review
“What a wonderful break”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a fun filled week at the Courtyard Cottages complex. The owners, Ian and Hazel, were great and we got to see the farm including a new born lamb and the kids had the opportunity to name two new cows! Lots to do at the farm and the swimming pool was great, we also had fun trying to play badminton in the play barn. Wigtown is a great to visit and we discovered (with a lot of local help) some really nice beaches, we even managed to go swimming a few times in the sea. Definitely a place we would recommend and we look forward to going back. Thanks again to Ian and Hazel for their excellent hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: No down points
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love these cottages and have come back each year for 9 years. There's something for everyone.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The service is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The cottages are well equipped and comfortable. We especially love the wood burning stoves and the patio and garden area with play facilities for the kids. There is a brilliant barn with games for the kids to play and a swimming pool in another barn. The local area has so much to offer for all tastes - books, coffee shops, biking, walking, Cream of Galloway play for kids, water sports nearby for canoeing. We have been 9 times and have recommended to friends. It is excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The on site facilities - pool and games for kids and outside area for sitting. And log burning stoves. Great location too.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing