We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Castle Hotel(Llandovery)
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak Inn(Llandovery)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Inn(Llandovery)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Level Crossing(Llandovery)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Bear With Rooms(Llandovery)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
137
5
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barclarins productsbrecon beaconsfish piejo malonehome from homerack of lambhuge selection of drinksgreat attention to detailan absolute gema real treathomely feellovely couplelocal areafollowing morningloungeluxury
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just stayed the one night,but found the hotel,the service and the food excellent.Could not recommend the hotel enough.
Would stay again,wish more hotels had the same welcoming atmosphere,nothing was to much trouble and the food was great also.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review and it was great to have you and your friends to stay, shame about the football results. Hope you make it over the border again soon Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was my first time at The New White Lion and when I first arrived I fell in love with the homely feel that the owners David and Cath had created. There is attention to detail here both in the rooms and the common areas and the well stocked honesty bar is a nice touch. Llandovery is a great little village providing access to many fantastic walks but also some great shops, pubs and cafes. David is also the chef and catered for my vegetarian diet with ease and the food is of the best I've ever had! I look forward to coming back here again and again and would like to extend my gratitude to David and Cath for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely having you to stay. David likes catering for all tastes and you were a very easy guest. Hope you did well in your exams and Sheffield here you come Regard Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a two night stay and had to write a review. The hotel is simply brilliant. We loved the detail of the decor which made us feel like we were staying in Kath and Dave's home rather than a generic hotel. Kath and Dave are so welcoming that it is impossible for you to not feel welcome during your stay. The food was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. We are already looking forward to our next visit. If you are in the area then this hotel is a must stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and it was great having you to stay, you were very easy guests and it is like home from home but with staff and a gin bar. Hope to see you again soon Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for the royal welsh show. The food is fabulous, worthy of any city restaurant. The hospitality is second to none and the feel is home from home ( with great decor, food and service) even the toiletries are clarins! Just go visit :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and it was great having you to stay and it is good for us to get up to do early breakfasts. The gin bar is great as you can taste without having to buy the bottle which saves you money really.Hope to see you again soon Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

And so for my third visit to The New White Lion......this time for a week with my 18 year old son with emphasis on walking The Gower Peninsula. Luckily this was a glorious week in terms of weather. Llandovery looked glorious with the sun bringing out the best of everyone. Such a friendly town and so nice to sit outside cafés and relax. The Gower Peninsula is a good hour's drive from The NWL but I prefer to stay at a hotel and town of known quality rather than take risks. Also I had quizzed David prior to booking and his great knowledge of the Peninsula was to be invaluable. I'm beginning to take Kath and David's warm welcome for granted and this visit was no exception......almost like old friends. Beautiful and clean rooms, excellent food and one of the most relaxing living rooms with an honesty bar to shame most pubs. My son is vegetarian and was imaginatively catered for. The emphasis of this trip was on the walking and thank David so much for his help planning our days out. He even insisted on setting our sat nav ensuring everything went to plan. Wonderful to return exhausted each evening after challenging walks on such a beautiful stretch of Coast. Thank you Kath and David you certainly deserve your numerous five star reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhawkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your great review. It is always great when guests come back to visit, like old friends coming for the weekend. Hope to see you again soon Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews