We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Colwyn Bay(Colwyn Bay)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
315
25
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
315
25
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bednorth walesrooms are largebreakfast was excellenta wonderful place to stayhigh standardquiet areafive star ratingexceeded our expectationsgreat hostsmany thanksspa bathfeel so welcomelast minute bookingpen y brynmade us feelwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Ellingham House is a lovely large old house decorated and furnished in a traditional style. The rooms are large and so was our bathroom. All rooms are furnished with care and attention to detail. The breakfasts are excellent and the welcome is warm. It is in a quiet area within walking distance of Colwyn Bay. There is on site parking for 5 or 6 cars but plenty of street parking on the quiet street. There are 8 well furnished bedrooms, there is also a guest lounge.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely and large with a large corner bath and shower
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your comments we're very pleased you enjoyed your weeks stay with us, a return trip to this area I seem to remember from our conversation.
Hope to meet you again.

Regards. Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay here for one night would have liked to stay longer. Very nice chatty hosts excellent facilities and breakfast , good location. Close to centre of town and front and situated in a quiet victorian residential area.

Large well appointed bedrooms with antique furniture. We also had a beautiful, modern (huge ) separate bathroom. Robes are provided. Other rooms are en suite.

All in all could not fault it and hope to stay there again. ...it would definitely be our preferred place to stay in the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Hello and thank you for your comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see for a longer stay next time.

Many thanks is

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Booked by my wife for an overnight stay on the 23rd April and it was brilliant and the effort into making this a well deserved 5* accommodation, hosts Ian & Chris have put in can be seen everywhere.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and certainly this is one guest house i would certainly recommend.

Then there's Ian & Chris, they make you feel so welcome, cannot do enough for you and we had a good old chin wag with them over breakfast.

Thanks to the both of you for a brilliant stay, just a shame we could have not stayed another night..

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme_walker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thanks for your comments, it was great to meet you both and hope we shall see you again soon.

Regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

A beautiful building lovingly restored by its owners Ian & Chris.
Our room was fabulous and the whole place was decorated to a very high standard.
Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and nothing too much trouble.
The food was delicious and served fresh to the table.
The location was excellent, within easy walking distance from both the town or the beach. We stayed in room 2 which was very spacious and had beautiful dark wood furniture in keeping with the age of the property without looking old fashioned. I would recommend this place to visitors. They even have dog friendly rooms, which we didnt need but not many 5 star accomodations would let dogs in.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location Room two was spacious with windows to three sides
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments, it's very much appreciated and we're pleased you enjoyed your few days with us in our home. We hope to see you again.

Many thanks

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

It was a quick decision last minute booking for one night only. Wish it could have been longer. It's so refreshing not to think I wish that was better and if only they had done that it would have made all the difference. Not at this B/B everything was 5 star as promoted. The Breakfast was perfectly cooked and nothing was too much trouble. The decor is to a very high standard not over the top but so comfortable and homely and spotlessly clean. Superb I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fksmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hello

Many thanks for you comments, it's always great to receive comments such as yours and to know that our guests enjoy there stay.

Many thanks

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews