We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Colwyn Bay”
Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellingham House
Ranked #3 of 9 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Great B&B with 2 charming hosts. Stayed in a deluxe double and it met our expectations. Spotlessly clean, large, spacious and very comfortable. Plenty of drawer and hanging space which was ideal for our 4 night stay. The breakfasts were simply perfection. Nothing was too much trouble for our knowledgable hosts. Great local knowledge of things to do and places to eat. If we had to pick fault I would say that the TV was a wee bit too small for the large room. But that's just nit picking! I would heartily recommend this B&B to anyone who likes personal excellent service at a good price. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Ellingham House is a lovely large old house decorated and furnished in a traditional style. The rooms are large and so was our bathroom. All rooms are furnished with care and attention to detail. The breakfasts are excellent and the welcome is warm. It is in a quiet area within walking distance of Colwyn Bay. There is on site parking for 5 or 6 cars but plenty of street parking on the quiet street. There are 8 well furnished bedrooms, there is also a guest lounge.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely and large with a large corner bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your comments we're very pleased you enjoyed your weeks stay with us, a return trip to this area I seem to remember from our conversation.
Hope to meet you again.

Regards. Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay here for one night would have liked to stay longer. Very nice chatty hosts excellent facilities and breakfast , good location. Close to centre of town and front and situated in a quiet victorian residential area.

Large well appointed bedrooms with antique furniture. We also had a beautiful, modern (huge ) separate bathroom. Robes are provided. Other rooms are en suite.

All in all could not fault it and hope to stay there again. ...it would definitely be our preferred place to stay in the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Hello and thank you for your comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see for a longer stay next time.

Many thanks is

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Booked by my wife for an overnight stay on the 23rd April and it was brilliant and the effort into making this a well deserved 5* accommodation, hosts Ian & Chris have put in can be seen everywhere.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and certainly this is one guest house i would certainly recommend.

Then there's Ian & Chris, they make you feel so welcome, cannot do enough for you and we had a good old chin wag with them over breakfast.

Thanks to the both of you for a brilliant stay, just a shame we could have not stayed another night..

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme_walker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thanks for your comments, it was great to meet you both and hope we shall see you again soon.

Regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

A beautiful building lovingly restored by its owners Ian & Chris.
Our room was fabulous and the whole place was decorated to a very high standard.
Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and nothing too much trouble.
The food was delicious and served fresh to the table.
The location was excellent, within easy walking distance from both the town or the beach. We stayed in room 2 which was very spacious and had beautiful dark wood furniture in keeping with the age of the property without looking old fashioned. I would recommend this place to visitors. They even have dog friendly rooms, which we didnt need but not many 5 star accomodations would let dogs in.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location Room two was spacious with windows to three sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments, it's very much appreciated and we're pleased you enjoyed your few days with us in our home. We hope to see you again.

Many thanks

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.5 km away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
551 reviews
2.6 km away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Old Colwyn
58 reviews
0.8 km away
The Colbourn Hotel B&B
The Colbourn Hotel B&B
#1 of 9 in Colwyn Bay
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bryn Woodlands House
Bryn Woodlands House
#2 of 9 in Colwyn Bay
111 reviews
0.7 km away
West Point Hotel Bed & Breakfast
0.8 km away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range: RM358 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star & Gold Award winner for 5 years (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing