We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai At Its Best”
Review of PanDan Leaf

PanDan Leaf
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Prestatyn
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Description: Authentic Asian cuisine cooked by Ken Goh who has over 20 years experience as a Chef. All meals are made at the premises and cooked to order. WE ARE OPEN ON BANK HOLIDAY MONDAYS - BUT THEN CLOSED ON TUESDAYS. For Lunch or Afternoon bookings please contact us and we can arrange to be open.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Asian cuisine cooked by Ken Goh who has over 20 years experience as a Chef. All meals are made at the premises and cooked to order. WE ARE OPEN ON BANK HOLIDAY MONDAYS - BUT THEN CLOSED ON TUESDAYS. For Lunch or Afternoon bookings please contact us and we can arrange to be open.
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Been here a few times now and have always enjoyed it.
The surroundings are very tasteful and the food and staff are excellent.
Ken has provided us with the best eating establishment in Prestatyn
Thanks very much for another nice evening.

Thank ricenterprize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa J, Owner at PanDan Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

We really appreciate your comments and I know that Ken always strives to his best and is solely responsible for creating the surroundings, food and staff training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

Great, genuine Malaysian food is the last thing you'd expect to find in a moribund seaside resort, but here it is! I ordered fish curry and my husband the beef rendang, and both were excellent (maybe the rendang could've been a tad drier but that is a matter of personal preference). Even the rice was good, and that's as rare as hen's teeth. We lived 4 years in Malaysia so we set the bar high!
Service prompt and friendly, nice ambience. Quiet at first on a Thursday but soon filled up.
Turns out the owner is from Penang. I'd love to know the story of how he came to be in Prestatyn.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa J, Owner at PanDan Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hi, thank you so much for this review. I must admit I'm not sure how Ken ended up in Prestatyn but perhaps he could tell you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We visited the restaurant on a Saturday evening at 7pm. The place was buzzing and full, but unfortunately due to the closeness of all the tables and the noisiness of other guests it was very difficult to have a conversation. The staff were lovely and the meal very well presented and tasty. I would have liked a milder dish in coconut milk offered with plain rice for those who enjoy less spicy food, my husband very much enjoyed the lamb curry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa J, Owner at PanDan Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

I am glad you enjoyed your meal and sorry you found it too noisy, however, as it was a Saturday night and there was a large party in inevitably there would be a lot of conversation and laughter. Please let us know your preference should you visit us again and we can recommend milder dishes for you, you may find that mid week will be a lot quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We had a lovely take away from here. The food was beautiful, cooked quickly and so tasty. Portions were great, I had Duck and got a 1/4 duck breast which I was nicely surprised by the amount. Very different and interesting options on the menu. There is no immediate parking if you are picking up a take away but there is public parking a short walk away. We will definitely use again, I can't wait to try some of the items on the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa J, Owner at PanDan Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you so much for your review. You can park on the opposite side of the road to pick up takeaways, or as you say there is a free car park in the evenings after 5pm within 25 yds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Myself, my wife and our thirteen year old Son visited this new restaurant one evening during the week. The restaurant was quite busy. Good job that we booked in advance.
We had a lovely table by the window.
Very friendly waitress took our order.
We had spring rolls and crispy duck with pancakes to start. Followed by fillet steak in black bean sauce. And a malaysian style chicken curry. We also had rice.
All of the food was piping hot. Made from the finest ingredients.
Absolutely delicious!
Washed down with a nice pint of house lager!
We would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely return next time we are in Prestatyn.

Thank ButtyBach67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa J, Owner at PanDan Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Thank you so much, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PanDan Leaf also viewed

Prestatyn, Denbighshire
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 

Been to PanDan Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing