We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a B&B with a great host in a wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ysgubor (The barn).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time The log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time
The log store
Cottage 2 Ty Golchi's garden
Bluebells on the drive up to the cottages
Torrent walk, accessible from the cottage
View from cottage towards a hill Moel Caerynwch
Cregennan Lake nearby
Overlooking Barmouth from Cregennan Lake
Cregennan Lake on the foothills of Cader Idris mountain
Cader Idris above the clouds
Aran fawddwy
Diffwys
Games Room
View from Ysgubor Patio.
Ysgubor fireplace.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor.
Ysgubor Patio doors
Ysgubor twin bedroom.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor double beamed bedroom.
Games Room
Y stabal Kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zimman
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a B&B with a great host in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My friends stayed in this lovely B&B the week before christmas 2012 and loved it. I had a last minute opportunity to travel to Dolgellau with my niece to do some cycling and couldn't believe my luck when there had been a cancellation! The B&B is attached to the owners house being in the old stable but the beauty is it is completely self contained. It is very comfortable with everything you need. Janet brought us a lovely breakfast each morning which we ate outside in the sunshine. We were full up for the day and enjoyed our cycling on the nearby Mawddach trail and enjoyed lovely pub meals at the nearby Gwernan lake hotel and the George lll hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and i heartily recommend it for a relaxing value for money break. Diolch yn fawr

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure having you both here to stay and glad the weather was sunny enough for you to enjoy breakfast "al fresco". Hopefully see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Poor wifi connection
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you for your kind words, glad you all enjoyed the Birthday weekend and glad that you enjoyed tasting the local beer! Hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TXNole
Brandon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place, great hosts ... when we go back to Wales, we will stay here”
Reviewed 10 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The hosts were great and the place was great. My family loved it and we will definitely be back. The separate game room was great. It is physically separate from the house, so the kids (and adults) can play pool without disturbing anyone in the main house.

We also brought our dog with us and it was great for him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Thank you for your feedback I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you'd like to come back and visit. Also glad your dog enjoyed the stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best ever self catering cottage I have stayed in (and I have stayed in quite a few)!!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

From my very first contact with Janet I was impressed with her professional yet approachable manner. The booking and transaction, information and directions were spot on. That is nothing compared to the amazing setting, views, amenities at the cottage . A warm welsh welcome when we arrived-yummy welsh cakes and milk for a brew- very thoughtful . Thoughtful is a phrase often used whilst we enjoyed a weekend with friends ranging from thirty (plus a few more pluses ) to teenager and three below ten years . I have never encountered so much thought put into children and teenagers activity and space, the provision of good, safe clean toys, outside play equipment, a separate indoor play room with heating and seating meant we could relax safe in the knowledge that they were having a fun time,exploring the grounds.We went as a group who intended to stay around the area together, playing games,relaxing and cooking together-a much needed catch up and chill from our usually busy lives. We had everything we needed to prepare, cook and serve our meals....obviously we brought our own ingredients! There is plenty of seating, crockery,cutlery, and bliss of all bliss a dishwasher!! The beds were snugly and warm on our crisp autumn weekend, the wood burner was toasty and an added luxury as the adults settled down to an evening an catching up with a couple of DVDs, a glass or two of wine whilst the little ones slept peacefully upstairs.I was especially pleased with access as one of our group has M.S and it was important that they could move around safely and freely. Downstairs bedrooms and bathrooms meant no queues for loos or showers. It's the sum total of all these provisions and more that allowed us to have one of the most worry free,relaxing breaks that I have ever had with young children !!! I would love to return soon:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safety,access,amenities setting
Liked least: Going home !!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you very much and glad that you enjoyed your stay. With children of our own we strive to make it a realxing safe environment for children and adults to enjoy and it's so lovely to hear that we are getting it right! Hope to meet you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful young family place to stay in mid Wales”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a holiday in mid Wales with a 2 year who is very adventurous and needs to get rid of his energy. We found this self catering holiday letting on a google search. Absolutely fabulous to coin a phrase. The larger barn that sleeps 6 -8 was better than expected and really really clean. The kitchen is extremely well stocked. It opens out onto the lounge, creating a good family feel whilst you cook, with a log burner that was lit every evening thanks to my hubbys boy hood dream! - the logs etc where freely available however dependent on your fire lighting skills you may need some additional fire lighters if you use the ones already provided! There are all the mod cons you would expect in a kitchen, nice large family fridge, dish washer, fan oven and more than enough kitchen cooking bits - pots, pans, oven dishes plates etc to make sure if you want to cook you can. There is a really lovely games room for the big and small children to play in, a BBQ and chimnea and seating outside if the weather allows. Our son enjoyed walking up to the horses in the morning and then playing on the outdoor equipment to burn that last bit of energy off in the evening before bed. Our barn had a secure fence around so he could go out and play in a secure environment, and we could see him all the way around. NO nasties on the walk ways for him to tread or walk through! There were two toilets and showers to allow for a more luxurious time spent in the bathroom rather than queues! And a really good bath with lots of hot water available. Toys for little ones were available to play with on the upstairs landing, all in good condition, not broken or with bits missing and CLEAN! a tumble dryer and really large capacity washing machine made sure that any wet gear was washed and cleaned in the same day. Few tips - wifi available which is great, but need to find the best place for your bit of kit - upstairs and on the stairs worked best for my new iPad. Watch your head when entering the family bedroom! Suggest you bring your own towels, washing up liquid and washing powder etc as you would anyway for SC, don't shop in the local spar, the co-op is far far cheaper, really good tourist info the local town and fantastic bistro for an adult evening meal in Barmouth. Cons - didn't stay long enough, the week went whizz! Liked it so much we have booked the same week for 2013. Janet and Adam are great and really helpful with ideas of what to do and where to go for kids. Would recommend here for older, young families and couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the warm welcome, the horses, the views, the freedom!
Liked least: Banging my head on few time on entering the family room, however that was over come with staying lower for longer!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2012
Thank you for your great review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in September 2013 so you can enjoy our new garden furniture and french doors!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing