We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING!”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the living area
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the sleeping area What you see straight ahead through Flat 3's tall window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the living area
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the sleeping area
What you see straight ahead through Flat 3's tall window
View NW from Flat 3's tall window to the Rhinogs' Y Garn mountain
View NE from Flat 3's tall window down across the garden.
View from the bedside through Flat 3's round window.
In through one window and out through the other.
Stripped window frame shows bathroom and kitchen were one room still with cook's bell there
Use of this twin-bedded Loft bedroom increases the number that can comfortably stay in Flat 3
This writing on the back of a door frame tells us when Flat 3 was added
Flat 3, the garden's Scots pines and the hills across the valley.
This plaque of Night commemorated the still birth of a boy and death of the youngest girl
Looking down past the entrance side of the rest of the house from outside Flat 3's round window
The garden side of the house
There is always a quiet sunny spot on the terrace to enjoy a read, a drink, a think, or a meal
Cadair Idris from one of our many documented walks.  Brynygwin is a third of the way up on the left
Brynygwin's stained glass window is lit some nights with family connections explained if wanted
Brynygwin kitchen garden's 100 metre stretch of the River Wnion to fish and to enjoy
The Mawddach estuary from hills across the valley from Brynygwin
Taken from the start of the Mawddach Trail and of the return leg of a 1 mile walk to Dolgellau
Talyllyn, 7 miles away and one of many nearby lakes
Cregennen Lake, also 7 miles away and an inspiration not to be missed
The leafy Black Falls, a favourite of famous poets and one of three in the Coed y Brenin Forest
Another of the three waterfalls in the Coed y Brenin forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul B
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gave us the creeps”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife,daughter and myself booked for two nights,however we felt the atmosphere in flat 3 to be very unsettling, in fact the whole place gave us the creeps. Much of the building was in bad repair and smelt of damp.
Gilbert led us through the gloomy entrance up the stairs to our room, explaining in great detail the workings of the antiquated heating system.
I was looking forward to using the log fire,but this was looked upon as being a complicated issue so I decided it wasn't such a good idea.
We stayed for one night, cycled the Mawddach trail the next day, which was lovely, and made our excuses to leave early, never to return to Brynygwin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Mawddach Trail
Liked least: Flat 3
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sazi1210
Upton, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We arrived on the 2nd March 2015, as we pulled up the driveway we were in absolute shock when we seen the house, it is GORGEOUS to say the least. We were welcomed by Gilbert who is the nicest man you could ever meet, who then proceeded to show us up into the flat. He explained everything to us in such detail and talked us through how to use the boiler and how to how to change the settings on the radiators. After we got settled in my husband and I went into the town which is a very short drive away and ate at the Royal Ship Hotel, the food there was lovely and reasonably priced. When we arrived back at the house Gilbert came and showed us how to set up the open log fire, he went through how to set it up, how to make kindling, and even spoke us through the types of wood we needed to make the fire last longer, it is a skill he has perfected over time and it worked a treat! (Not to forget how amazing it was to sleep with the log fire crackling. .......HEAVEN!) The second night again we went into town for a meal, we ate at a little Welsh bistro (just opposite the Ship Hotel) sorry I don't remember the name of it, but the food was also lovely there and reasonably priced too. (Turned out that was the old jail where they used to have their last supper) which we thought was quite fitting as it was our last night.
The house itself is set in the most amazing grounds, they even have rabbits on the front lawn in the mornings (which unfortunately I didn't get to see but my husband did) The house has so much history to it and has been in Gilbert's family for generations. We can't wait to come back and stay again...... We have decided that from now on its our little holiday place :) ......... Perfect little break away, wish we could've stayed longer. Xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadi S
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very good guid about the address from the friendly owner helped us to get there easily. Really nice place with lots of character and spectacular view. It worths money and is close to many attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m18gfc
Medway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Lovely accomodation.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the beautifully picturesque Brynygwin for a week and had a fantastic time. Gilbert the owner was incredibly friendly and helpful for the whole of our stay.

The brochures (although some a little out of date) were a great addition to come in to and to plan the week ahead from the moment we arrived. The very carefully planned and well documented walks were also very useful and saved us getting lost while trying to plan our own walks! I think there are around thirty different walks, all around Dolgellau, that Gilbert has laid out for his guests.

Dolgellau is around a 10-15 minute walk away most of which can be done away from the main road ( along the old drive then along the river). A nice town with a few pubs and restaurants although we only ventured in on one night as we were exhausted from all the walking! The stag pub near the bridge was a nice find where we had a quiet drink on our last evening. The hunibuns are well worth a try from the local bakery!

All in all a lovely holiday in a great location, would defiantly stay at Brynygwin again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel J
south staffordshire
1 review
“Total Gem! Super location. Gilbert 'the owner' and his beautiful holiday let/s... fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The review title pretty much say's it all really! We arrived later than expected on a Friday evening after finishing work late.. We found 'Brynygwin' easily due to the very clear/ detailed directons provided by Gilbert 'the owner' whom had lit the hallway to the main house... presenting us with a beautiful and historically interesting 'Stained Glass Window' for our arrival- Gilbert showed us to our Little gem 'flat 3' immediately after showing us where we could store our bikes etc ..We settled in beautifully that evening especially as Gilbert responded swiftly to our request for nets of logs even though it was getting late..even showing us his faithful 'tried and tested' method to get a roaring log fire going within no time at all. Often people say they will return to places they have stayed at, but often never do! We shall be returning as often a possible. if it's a cosy weekend for two or a party of 12 cyclists or fishermen...then Brynygwin can offer you some fantastic holidays in a beautiful location within walking distance from the beautiful town of Dolgellau.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: arriving!
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing