We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pale Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
US$152
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
US$170
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cain Valley Hotel(Llanfyllin)
US$112
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
207
25
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
25
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menuqueen victoriaon arrivaldrawing roomwine flightantique furniturebeautiful hotelmorning teasunday lunchpure luxurymichelin starsignificant birthdaywelcome drinkmichael cainescomplimentary glass of champagnecountry housethe general manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was a splurge but indeed worth every cent or pound!!! The staff cater to your every need and know you by name. I would go back in flash. The food, the room the staff and the building itself were all magnificent. Brilliant...

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JFamilyBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow, thank you for this glowing review, and although its a fair trek for you to get here, Brisbane being more than a bit of a drive we really hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful way to spend a few days. Staying here is like being invited as guest to an immaculate country home. Almost like being lost in an episode of Downton Abbey. The staff are excellent and go far to make you feel very much welcome and “at home”.

We had the Carmarthen Suite with spectacular views and a very large comfortable room and bed.

Dinner was the tasting menu with wine flight and I’m really glad we made that choice. It was very good and entertaining too.

Go there, you won’t be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richardmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for these very kind words. We do want it to feel like a home, akin to a stay in Downton Abbey, without the shenanigans. The house is full of our personal things, and each has its story, so it is a home that happens to be a five star hotel, with very warm and welcoming staff. We are so glad that you had a great stay.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé booked us a two night break at Pale Hall as part of an early birthday trip for me! I wanted to go to Portmeiron and Pale Hall seemed like the nicest hotel in the area.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was utterly delightful. The gentleman that greeted us was warm and friendly making us instantly feel relaxed. I like how there is no formal reception desk. We went through to the drawing room for some on the house fizz and relax after the long drive, whilst he took care of our bags.

Our room was sensational - we stayed in Ruthin which overlooked the grounds. An absolute pleasure to wake up to each morning. A lovely touch is the smart mirror TV and the stools to get up to the bed... it is rather high!!

Breakfast is delightful and served in a lovely room which we decided on the second morning of our stay it must have been the old kitchen? Food delicious!

My fiancé had booked the tasting menu as a surprise for me for the 2nd evening. It was my first experience and was not disappointed... from the pre-dinner canapés to the coffee and petit-fours afterwards. The owner also was having dinner that night and came over to our table to say hello which we both agreed was a lovely thing to do!

Upon returning to our room, we’d had turndown service which again was a pleasant surprise!

We stay in a lot of nice hotels and so I really look for the little touches in a stay and there were endless here.

What a wonderful stay and a beautiful hotel!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alead22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a heartfelt review. I remember very well my first tasting menu at a really good hotel, I was a teacher and we saved up for months to eat at Le Manoir and its still right up there in my life time experiences. Gareth will be so pleased that he heads a team who also create those sort of experiences. On this occasion Chef Owen Vaughan should take a bow.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This building built in 1871 and now beautifully restored into a most comfortable and welcoming house/hotel with 5-star service in every department. Not all the bedrooms are big as en suites had to be added but ours was extremely comfortable with every amenity and a lovely bathroom. Super staff specially mentioning Terry, a local Welshman.

Room Tip: Feel sure all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bluebell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this wonderful five star review. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and that the staff looked after you so well. We are also really pleased that you like the restoration and that you felt that it was a home as well as a hotel - jus what we are aiming for.
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we walked into the quiet splendour of Palé Hall we felt welcomed.
The staff are so obviously happy to be there and that reflects in the standard of care they afford their guests.

I love the fact that there is no formal check in area, a conscious decision on Angela & Alan’s part to make the hotel feel more like a home and less like a business.

The initial Hall opens into a full height reception area complete with log fire and beautiful artwork - look up to the ceiling, you won’t be disappointed.

After sitting in one of the lounges, having a welcome drink and chatting to some of the staff, we were shown to our room whilst being given a mini tour and some history of the beautiful house.

The room itself, The Denbigh, has been finished with beautiful attention to detail. The views were across the gardens and woodlands. The bathroom was spacious and the toiletries perfectly matched to the quality of the fittings.

We chose the tasting menu for dinner, mine was altered to suit my dietary requirements (a request that was fulfilled with no issues unlike other establishments we’ve eaten at). Each course was presented beautifully, explained fully and accompanied by a perfectly matched wine.

After dinner we spoke to Harry the chef and conveyed our thanks and appreciation - he was happy to stay and chat to us, even bringing out our petit fours (with an additional treat from the new afternoon tea menu to try) even though he’d just finished a full dinner service and must have been worn out!

Breakfast was served in the small dining room and was just a good as we’d hoped. A minor hiccup with my choice was sorted out quickly.

We can’t wait to return - something we said more or less as we walked through the front door at the beginning of our stay.

Huge thanks to all the staff for the amazing efforts - it truly was one of the best places I’ve stayed and the food was better than that at Le Manoir in my opinion.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, Owner at Pale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Praise indeed!
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely and full review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that Chef Harry took time to talk to you and give that little extra treat.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to Pale
Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews