We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“After a fun packed day in Snowdonia, this was a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glyn Awel

Glyn Awel enjoys a magnificent setting opposite Y Lliwedd on the Snowdon Horseshoe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glyn Awel enjoys a magnificent setting opposite Y Lliwedd on the Snowdon Horseshoe
Large dining kitchen accommodates 10 in comfort
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Glyn Awel enjoys a magnificent setting opposite Y Lliwedd on the Snowdon Horseshoe
Large dining kitchen accommodates 10 in comfort
It looks like an Aga, but actually it's just like a normal ceramic hob with 2 ovens
Inglenook with log burner in case of a chilly evening
Convenient utility keeps modern appliances out of the traditional kitchen
Large comfortable lounge with TV, media centre and a selection of DVDs
Feature fireplace with log burner
Also a study for quiter relaxation
There's two large double bedrooms and three twins all finished in country style
There's a large terraced garden on several levels
with spectacular views of the surrounding mountains
Autumn is as good a time to visit as summer is
That's the flank of Snowdon at the back, Y Lliwedd in front, Watkin path in the valley between
Sometimes locals drop in unannounced
Our location (dead centre of picture). Small car park is for the Watkin path up Snowdon
Snowdon in spring, on way to the Watkin path start
Llyn Gwynant, less than a mile north of the cottage
Llyn Gwynant from above the cottage
Llyn Dinas, 10 minute's walk south of the cottage, on the way to Beddgelert
The pretty village of Beddgelert, 3 miles to the South
Black Rock Sands beach near Porthmadoc half an hour away
Welsh Highland Railway near Beddgelert station
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chaffe201...
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After a fun packed day in Snowdonia, this was a welcoming house to come home too.”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

There was plenty of room for all eight of us and the doggies, a nice big table in the kitchen to cater for us all. After our very active days it was lovely to come home light fire and chill out. The house was very warm and cosy, plenty of layers on the beds.
There was some great doggy walks within easy reach from house, of course the Watkins path as well. Thank you for a stay which made our holiday extra special, the Chaffe s and the Christopher's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was there, you didn't have to worry about something missing.
Liked least: The fires were a bit tricky to keep going, whether wood wasn't seasoned or something.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect break”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a beautiful cottage and what a beautiful setting!

The cottage has everything you could need and more and is very comfortable and cosy.

It was nice to be without the phone or the internet for much of the time - a real break away from our normal world. We couldn't work out the TV system, so made the most of all the DVDs available - we had several film nights!

The surrounding scenery is gorgeous and one of the paths to the top of Snowdon is only a few hundred yards away - perfect for walkers! Even though we aren't walkers, we found plenty to do for the week.

What's more, we didn't have any significant rain for the whole week - unheard of in our previous experience of Snowdonia!

A brilliant week away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cottage
Liked least: Coming back!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage and the views are a wow factory.”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here about two weeks ago and after a 10 hours traveling we finally got here and what a place to stay. The cottage has everything you will need, loads of room we had 11 in our party 8 adults 3 children. The beds are comfortable and had good nights sleep. The cottage is beautiful inside and out. The garden is massive and at night the trees talk. The owners and caretaker are lovely people and made our holiday from start to finish one to remember so i thank you again. The views you wake up are a wow factor, if your like me and love looking a clouds running over mountains then this is the place for you. We did walk Snowdon the Watkin path which the start is about 1/4 mile away and nearly killed me, so if you want an easy way the miners path is an easy one. Always check the weather before you go because it can change very quickly, we had ice rain the second time we walked Snowdon. The little town of Beddgelert is a very lovely place, people are very friendly and very helpful. Has a shop for a nights food but not for a week shopping, Porthmadog is the best one it has a Tesco's which is about 25 miles away and in it self is a lovely drive. A place to visit is the slate museum, great day out and its free which is nine miles away. Nant gwynant has beautiful lakes and if you get up early and go down to one of the lakes you can take some wonderful mirror images of the water-falls. All in all a very lovely and relaxing holiday but when not walking the mountain. Can't wait until we go back again its like home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything a wonderful holiday from all of us
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn b
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a beautiful cottage, in a fantastic location. The views were incredible. There were 10 in our party aged from 6 to 79 and all fitted in comfortably. There are some great walks from the cottage. Even made it halfway up snowdon. A great time had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Jay...
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family - it's beautiful. The cottage is gorgeous and has everything you need. We will definitely go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing