We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Had two nights here and it was brilliant. It has been recently decorated due to last years floods and was beyond our expectations, lots of wood for the log burner, spotlessly clean, beautifully soft bed linen. The best bit was the views over the estuary and going for a walk on the beach at 6.30 as the sun was setting and everyone had gone home.
Magical and amazing are the only words to describe this place :)

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela12345686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a wonderful surprise break immediately before Christmas! This property overhanging the beach/ water must surely be at its very best in the wild storms of this winter. We were assisted to the property by members of the team and entered to a roaring log fire and every room toasty from small electric heaters that you really wouldnt expect to throw out so much heat! This is a traditional property and furnished in the main as such- take your slippers as the stone floors are cold and the tiles on the stairs a bit sharp! There was only the 2 of us bùt this is a substantial property- not quite sure how everyone could comfortably sit in the lounge if at capacity though. The kitchen is well resourced but the over quite slow and we were a bit surorised not to find a small 'welcome pack' on arrival as provided in every other cottage we have ever stayed- at least for a cuppa on arrival so remember to take this with you as the one shop I was directed to by the hotel receptionist to whom I regaled our 'plight' hat was open in the village had very limited stock and was expensive. Our package included a meal in either the hotel or castle and given the wild weather we opted for thenearby hotel. The food was excellent as was the food in the castle on a previous visit. Fabulous views so well considered in the build so even if you only use one room, check the views from all the others. We will definitely return if a bit better resourced next time.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelbugzUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having stayed at The Gate House 2 years ago we decided that we wanted another stay at Portmeirion, and decided to go for a self catering cottage again.
We actually booked a two night stay which included afternoon tea on the day of arrival, and an evening meal in the hotel on one of the nights.

I liked the idea of White Horses because it was a bit more secluded than many of the other self catering cottages, being some 100 metres past the hotel.
Situated on the sea wall, to get any closer to the sea you'd need to be on a boat. Even when the tide was out the water was almost up to the base of the building, and when the tide is in you have water on two sides.
The main part of the cottage is split into 2 rooms, the kitchen, and the lounge / dining room / bunk bed room.
There were only 3 of us, so we just used the two bedrooms, which are situated above the path between the main building and the cliff.
The building is heated by electric convector heaters, but there is a coal / wood fire in the centre of the building, which we took advantage of when it got a bit cooler in the evening. There is an adequate supply of coal, wood and firelighters.
The kitchen is well equipped, and there is a TV and DVD player in the lounge area.
On one night the wind did get up, and we could see the waves breaking just outside, but it wasn't enough to reach the cottage, so we didn't get the experience that gave the cottage it's name.

On the final day I was cooking some toast for breakfast and just 10 metres away I could see a bird diving into the sea for it's breakfast.
You don't see that where I live.

After we checked out we stayed on in the village for most of the day, before visiting Plas Brondanw on our way home.

One final tip. The Observatory Tower next to the cottage has a camera obscura built into it. Apparently this used to be open to all visitors, but access now is restricted to residents, who must be accompanied by a porter.
I understand that this is only available when certain members of staff are available, but I would recommend asking about it at the hotel reception, as there are very few of these devices still in use, and it's well worth seeing first hand.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is just one of the world's top venues. We like self-contained and this is just 100 yards outside the famous village built into the sea-wall giving it a magical quality.

Wood fires, patio on the estuary, secluded. Good kitchen. Very cosy and romantic especially in Winter.

It could do with a freezer.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hinch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews