We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing view!”
other travellers have booked this property
Portmeirion, Italianate village directly opposite the cottage on the opposite side of the estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portmeirion, Italianate village directly opposite the cottage on the opposite side of the estuary
views across the Glaslyn Estuary and Tremadog Bay opposite Portmeirion, the Italianate village Lounge with log burner for your use, cosy nights in are one of our favourites
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Portmeirion, Italianate village directly opposite the cottage on the opposite side of the estuary
views across the Glaslyn Estuary and Tremadog Bay opposite Portmeirion, the Italianate village
Lounge with log burner for your use, cosy nights in are one of our favourites
Lounge with stunning uninterrupted views across the Glaswyn Estuary where you can watch the sun set
Open air garden room to enjoy afternoon tea or an evening relaxation with views of Port Meirion
View of the front garden from the front door & the 26 acre estate which you can explore to the f
Garden to the left of the property for children to play and explore with fencing to the field
Pathways through the well stocked front gardens
View of the cottage from the driveway in front of the cottage
Main double bedroom with French Windows opening onto the garden room
Front childrens bedroom with ample toys, books, games and beach toys
Rear bedroom over looking the Glaswyn Estuary & Portmeirion, the Italianate village
Ty-Gwyn on Caerffynnon Hall Estate set in 26 acres including an 11th Century hill top fort
Brand new shower room fitted in January '16
Kitchen with Neff Hobb & cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer, toaster, washer and dryer
Dining area which is an intergral part of the main lounge and back door to rear garden/decking area
Go Karting at Glasfryn Parc, wakepark, Ten-Pin Bowling, Archery, nr Pwllheli
Quad bikes all year round at Glasfryn Parc - well worth a visit.
Whitewater Rafting Centre near Bala is in our opinion the best in the country and a must do activity
The 11 century lookout fort at the top of Caerffynnon woods with stunning views of Tramadog bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Talsarnau, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dweendled
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Ty Gwyn this summer and were lucky to have glorious sunny weather as well. The cottage is in a lovely spot and the views over the estuary are amazing. There is a covered verandah at one end where we sat out every evening until too dark to see, because the view was so lovely we didn't want to go indoors. No TV was watched the whole week! The cottage was very well equipped it was a bit like a home from home with games in the children's rooms and a few CDs and DVD's to watch. There are steps into the property and also a side access from the car park through the garden. We found it a perfect base to explore the local area and beyond and have planned to visit again next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy H
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely relaxing stay in beautiful North Wales”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked the cottage for myself, and my husband who are in ours 60s, and my grown up daughter. We were also able to bring our dog, which was lovely as we didn't want to holiday without him.
The cottage was in a wonderful quite setting, and had amazing views over the countryside. We had access to the grounds in which the cottage was set, and this became a high light to our holiday. We all spent the evenings taking a lovely long walks with the dog, and were very impressed with it. The facilities in the cottage were second to none, we have everything we could have needed during our stay. The kitchen was fully equipped, and had everything required for eating in, which we did every evening. The bedrooms were very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets, and none of us had any trouble sleeping. The bathroom was clean and had a lovely shower as well a bath. The living room was very cosy at night, with a large TV and plenty of DVDs to watch, we did make use of these, as most evenings the telly is rubbish anyway. There was a wide range of books and games if we were bored and stuck indoors, but luckily we did manage to get out every one of the seven days we were there, even though a couple of the days the weather was not very kind. There is a great deal to see and we visited many places, most of these were found in the house book of information that was on the table in the living room. That was very useful and gave us plenty of inspiration for the day. Overall we had a wonder week and would come back again. I also wanted to add to anyone that has concerns about the steps at the front of the cottage, I am in my mid 60s and slightly disabled and use a walking stick, but I did not have any problems with the steps. The steps are wide and easy to navigate and there is a secure handrail to use, so please do not be worried about them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill641
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage was in a lovely position, had beautiful views, and plenty to do in the local area”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

WE had a lovely week at the cottage. My two daughters had a wonderful time in the woods behind the property and enjoyed the beaches and surrounding villages to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and position
Liked least: Smelt a little of dogs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelRose03...
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home holiday cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, my partner, our daughter, and her boyfriend had a fantastic week at the cottage in mid-May. After a long drive we were greeted with a warm, cosy, and very clean cottage and a much appreciated welcome pack which enabled us to have a cuppa and a snack and immediately relax into our holiday. We truly found it to be a home from home in that it had absolutely everything you could need and everything in the cottage was of good quality. For example, the sofas were loaded with cushions enabling even the fussiest of pepole to get comfy, the bed had a luxury mattress topper good quality linen and was more comfortable than our bed at home, the TV was a large flat screen LG and there was an extensive library of good DVD's, and the kitchen was chocca block with matching ikea crockery and had every shape and size of pot, pan, and dish that you could possibly need. The outside covered decked area was fantastic and equiped with table and benches plus deckchairs and a bbq, on a warm clear day it is a great place to just sit and enjoy. Also, we found the information folder that the owners had put together on the local area really useful. In comparison to other cottages we have stayed in, this one is most definately one of the cleanest, best equipped, and well presented.
The location was perfect and the views were absolutely stunning. Waking up to a sunning morning and that view across the estury to Portmerion was just such a perfect way to start the day. The walk up to the hill fort is pretty short and pretty steep, but well worth doing as the same view of the sunset from higher up the hill is absolutely stunning.
The cottage is very close to Harlech, which is small and friendly and has everything you need. Harlech castle is worth a visit, and the beach and sand dunes also well worth spending a few hours enjoying. Talsarnau itself is very small with few amenities, other than a small train station at which you need to request the train to stop. It is within walking distance of the cottage, and we used it as the starting point for one of our days out . It's on the main line through North Wales, so you can get to anywhere from it, much of the line runs past wonderful scenery, and we found the fares to be much cheaper than at home.
So all in all we loved it, we appreciate the thought and effort that the owners have put into making it a really comfortable place to stay, and the hard work that the housekeepers put in to presenting a clean and welcoming home from home. Will definitely be recommending to friends and family and looking to stay again ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: Nothing to dislike about it
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debradee6...
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A get away from it all ...... But close to every thing, loved it.”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at the cottage. 5 adults and 2 small dogs, and we all loved it. It was our first break together as a family and wondered if we would get under each others feet. This wasn,t the case, we all wanted to stay longer and will definitely go again. There was milk, butter and cheese in the fridge. Bread, biscuits and welsh cakes also went down well. Very clean property that is well looked after. We were a bit worried about the steps after precious reviews ( my brother in law has Parkinson's and is unsteady on his feet) but they were no where near as bad as we,d thought. We came and went with no problems. Visited Barmouth, Harlech castle and beach and borth y gest (the coast walk is amazing).
We were lucky enough to have booked the warmest 4 days we've had this year, so we didn't spend the days inside the cottage. But if the weather had been bad .... There was a flat screen tv and plenty of books ... And the company was great.
A big thank you to the owners for letting us have a great break in a home from home. We will be booking again.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing