We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Porthwen Farm

Porthwen farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm Porthwen farm with sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm with sea views
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Bedroom 1 with king size bed
Bedroom 2 with double bed & cot. Sea views
Bedroom 2 with cot & sea views
Bedroom 3 - twin beds
Family bathroom
Enclosed private garden with decking
Garden
Sea views
Sitting area with sea views
The old brickworks Porthwen bay
Sunset over porthwen
Views of countryside from the front of Porthwen farm
The neighbours
Hall/sitting room
Dining room
Hall/sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peterhart...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed our weekend. Lots of space but cosy. Stylish. Warm. Well equipped with electronic devices. Good kitchen. We liked the wood fire. Remember to take lots of seasoned wood logs and kindling. Firelighters were available there but take some just in case. Take bottled water. Do walk to Bull Bay by the coastal walk for the stunning scenery. Book this cottage with confidence.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire124...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovely spot. So peaceful. We returned this year for a long weekend but wished we had booked the week. Weather was lovely. The children even swam in the sea on November 1st. Great place to unwind with friends and family; plenty of space, enclosed garden and warm and welcoming atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size of property
Liked least: Difficult access to the beach but views and access to walking fab
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snappyd96...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great rural/coastal location!”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Really enjoyed our stay at Porthwen. Although a little difficult to find as we arrived in the dark, it's well worth the effort. The house is quirky with lots of small changes in elevation. We had 3 kids with us aged 5, 6 and 11, they enjoyed exploring the house and garden.
We used the property as a base for a weekend at Anglesey Circuit, this meant that we didn't spend as much time as we'd have liked at the property, and the commute to the circuit was quite a distance, but this didn't matter as there is very little traffic on the island and so travel time was relatively short.
All in all a great property (check out the log burners, they're epic!).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire G
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is wonderful and homely with so much space.
The area is incredibly quiet which is amazing when you are away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We didn't even get up until lunchtime on our first day, we must have needed the rest.
The location is great, the place fab and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.
We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely break ”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The drive down the pathway is very daunting and if uou meet someone driving the opposite way one of you has to reverse back until you can let them past. The views from the farmhouse are lovely and coastal walk was beautiful. It's very peaceful & my son loved exploring the farmhouse and surrounding areas. The farmhouse it self is lovely and clean, however, could do with an extra bathroom/toilet. We all had a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you found the lane daunting. This is a private lane giving access to just 3 properties so there is only coming & goings of 3-4 cars during a day, so it is a rare occurrence to meet oncoming traffic, but as of most of Anglesey lanes it is single track with passing areas.
Porthwen is advertised as 1 family bathroom, I do get large groups suggesting the addition of another, It would be nice & I have considered it but it's not as easy as that as it is a RURAL 17 century building with stone walls 2 ft thick, It would need the expandtion of the existing septic tank & my main concern is to consider the impact of its natural water source, as we are not on mains supply. all these things we take for granted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing