We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonny, Tranquil and quirky Beaumaris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Before starting my review I must state that Bishopsgate had been shut for a couple of days and on the day of checking in Hazel and her team worked extremely hard to convert an almost similarity to a building site to a lovely presentable and clean environment - 10/10 for transformation under hectic stressful conditions.

Hazel and her friendly efficient team are great. Our first visit to Beaumaris on a Travelzoo voucher and we were not disappointed. As previous have commented the food is outstanding and value for money. With our voucher we had a 3 course meal on the first evening - enjoyed it so much we ate at Bishopsgate in the 2nd evening too. Mel is friendly and “knows her stuff” - knowledgeable on menu and advises where necessary. Thanks to the chef too - your food is delicious and cherry Bakewell tart super. Breakfast made to order so no waste - just what you want as buffet style is unnecessary.

We stayed in Room 11 and were not disappointed. Clean fresh towels - toiletries - tea making facilities with biscuits a great touch! Comfortable and warm.

Quirky and interesting shops and a quiet retreat which we were looking for.

No wind conditions along the Menai strait so superb walking environment.

We will be back thank you!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bok64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

A small hotel with character, conveniently situated on the Main Street, this is a very old property with some nice features. We were offered a choice of two rooms and we opted for the larger one which was comfortable and attractive. There is a cosy bar and a smart lounge but the restaurant is THE place to be. The three course meal included in the Travelzoo deal was delicious with many items sourced locally. The service was friendly and efficient with many of the diners being non-resident. I guess this is a popular choice of restaurant where good food and service can be guaranteed. We also enjoyed the breakfast which was beautifully cooked and presented. Nothing negative to report, all good. We opted to dine in the restaurant on our second night and would love to go back several times and work our way through the menu. All in all, a great experience.

Room Tip: Top floor room seemed a bit cool so we opted for the first floor room which was warm.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarolHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Booked this up on a Travelzoo deal - good value but price was influence by the time of year! Opted for the upgraded room and was not disappointed. Bedroom, and reception rooms, were old fashioned but well maintained - quaint! The antithesis of a 'chain' hotel. Well located in the centre of Beaumaris (though it's not a large town). Adequate off road parking at the rear.
Also had an evening meal at the restaurant (included in the package). Straight forward menu but all very nice - lovely lamb!!

Room Tip: go for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank richardcI9593JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We received a friendly welcome from Hazel upon arrival who covered all the salient points. We had room nr 2 with a view of the ocean and all was very comfortable. My husband especially enjoyed the cosy bar downstairs and the food was very good. All the staff members were friendly. The car park is situated behind the hotel and therefore it is a bit of a walk to carry luggage, however they did offer assistance with that. The location is excellent as it is located in the main road, but still quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YollaBekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Checked out the reviews but thought the hotel only average.Room needed updating and the bathroom was just a shower and toilet.The bed wasn’t very comfortable and in the mommy back wasn’t good.The room was very clean though and good selections of teas coffees and biscuits. Breakfast was late starting but the staff on reception were great and organised me to have breakfast at 8.15. The staff I met were lovely and were very helpful and obliging. The breakfast was ok but must admit have had a lot better. The overall stay was ok but I have had much better.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank 140AngelaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 km away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
778 reviews
4.3 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
6.6 km away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
16.2 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
3.1 km away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: RM 466 - RM 606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing