We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$200
US$170
View deal
Hotels.comUS$170
Expedia.comUS$170
PricelineUS$170
CheapTicketsUS$170
eDreamsUS$170
HurbUS$200
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,291)
Filter reviews
3,292 results
Traveller rating
1,338
934
493
272
255
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,338
934
493
272
255
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar bertie's restaurant medieval banquet prince of wales suite cream tea peacocks wandering steeped in history relaxation room roll top bath grounds are lovely spa facilities birthday treat deluxe room cooked breakfast steam room some tlc buffet style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 3,292 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Finally a Saturday night away with my wife and daughter and husband and two young children. This is a wonderful place full of character and nothing was too much trouble for the staff and a special thank you to Charlotte. The staff went above and beyond in making our stay so special and in these 'strange' times it was really appreciated.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Z5371ISpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Finally got to go back to our favourite place that we have missed so much.There has been a lot of changes during this awful time we would say some for the better James the manager has done so much to improve with the team this beautiful building.
The staff at Ruthin nothing is ever to much trouble for any of them they all work so hard. Hospitality has been hit one of the worst and it must be hard for management to try keep on top of everything this is a listed building not a Boutique hotel its old and magical best place to spend a break or a wedding.we took our vows 2014 most memorable day of our lives it’s enchanting and full of surprises.Food was excellent great chef big thank you to you all Can’t wait to return July.Breakfast will hopefully be back on and normality we all hope.

Room tip: Suites are lovely.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous setting, the whole place is a bit tired but you have to make allowance for that, taking covid into account and the fact it is a very old beautiful building but improvements and maintenance is really needed.
We paid over £200 for night stay (upgraded to a suite) and for the price you’d expect standards to be higher to be honest! You’d get a lot more for your money else where. (Cleanliness isn’t great carpets weren’t hoovered hair in the bath for a expensive suite room not really acceptable)
Also to use the hot tub for an hour £40 quid extra !!!! ( for two people) you’d think as a paying guest at the hotel the use of the hot tubs wouldn’t be priced so ridiculously!!!

All staff are so lovely! Very helpful. We dined at the hotel too food is nice, service isn’t great. (Drinks forgotten about, 30 mins wait for tap water etc...)
The whole hotel needs polishing over service too but as a whole I’d recommend!

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank g19991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night last week as a belated birthday trip with the hubby, we stayed in the Prince of Wales and had a two course meal and breakfast the next day, as part of out package we had a bottle of Prosecco which was chilling in our room when we arrived, the big double bath was a dream, we decided last minute to have our meal as room service which was no problem for the staff the food was delivered to the room piping hot and was delicious, breakfast arrived slightly late and was a little disappointed with the food as we got offered no choice at all and apart from the hot bap the rest was taken home for the children as it was food that neither me or my hubby would have chosen, the only real negative was the fact that the curtain opposite the bed wouldn’t close as a lot of the hooks were off the rail! We pulled it as much as possible and secured it with a hair clip which did the job
All in all would highly recommend for a peaceful relaxing night away, it does need some cosmetic work doing but after being shut for so long due to covid the staff are more than making the best job they can

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LouiseM186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have just visited the Tafarn y Ddraig at Ruthin castle for the first time after covid restrictions have been lifted. What a lovely experience. The staff were extremely attentive and the social distancing and controls in place were excellent.
The IPA was very well served and tasted well kept.
We opted for a starter each, one squid and one cauliflower wings. Both arrived promptly and were very hot. Following that my wife had 2 further side orders of salad and sweet potato fries whilst I opted for the Cajun chicken burger with an extra of Stilton. All of the food was cooked perfectly and served promptly and hot.
Thanks again to James and his team. It was lovely to get back to Ruthin Castle.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews