We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$117
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$72
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Pilgrim Hotel(Much Birch)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
159
82
24
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
82
24
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteeped in historyroaring fireghost huntlots of historylamb shankwarm welcomelovely old pubbig open firebutty bachfantastic atmosphereolde worldwell worth a visitserved quicklyposter bedbar maiddelicious meal
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We only popped in for a pint or two! We were made very welcome by the barmaid and the beer was great. The pub really is very atmospheric and so so old. I would have loved to have explored the property.
I will go back and recommend you stop if you are passing.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

It was our first visit to the Skirrid and it definitely won't be our last. I had booked a table for the 4 of us for Saturday evening. The food was delicious and all Home made which you don't get at many pubs/restaurants, portion sizes were great, although we did manage to fit in a dessert, the drinks were good and all in all value for money. Staff were pleasant and the whole atmosphere of the building gave you an eerie feeling especially reading the stories pictures on the walls in added to the effect.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We visited the Skirrid mountain inn for the first time last evening. A pretty early evening run up to the inn,through a lovely village.The inn is ancient,with many interesting features including a massive Inglenook fire place with a lovely welcoming fire.We enjoyed a good bar meal,a couple of drinks and found the staff extremely friendly and obliging.There was a good atmosphere,well worth a visit. The menu is not very extensive and typical bar food,but enjoyable and fairly good value,we would go again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The oldest pub in Wales. Hauntings. A notorious place of execution. How much better can it get?
We wanted to visit the Skirrid Mountain Inn for some time. It's a place that seemingly has more than one reason to visit. Some visitors might gleefully relish the thought of sitting down to dine in an honest to goodness haunted building. Without going into the history, there are plenty of investigations into paranormal activity. Just read some of the certificates on the walls. Where else could you visit the spot where victims were hanged just behind the bar?
There are many other reasons to visit, among them is the location. The aged atmosphere and wonderful stone work both inside and out, and that fireplace is just amazing.
For the majority of visitors I'm guessing is dining. The place quite large, with ample seating in two rooms plus a great little table tucked away in a corner, which we were lucky enough to get. My advice, book. There were a large number of people getting turned away with disappointed looks on their faces. Yes, we actually had the last table.
The food is simple but well cooked and tastes out of this world. The steak being the star of the show for my son. It's also very reasonably priced, and a bonus is the friendly staff. We listened and laughed at the banter with two locals and the issue of the front door which seemed to have a problem.

All in all, great food, atmosphere to die for (see what I did there?) and friendly service. I highly recommend a visit(ation), whether a ghost hunter or casual luncher.
Scarily good

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Paul_Mark_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Visited the Skirrid Inn at lunch time on a Tuesday. We received a warm welcome from the staff and the dog was allowed in the beer garden (Water bowls available). I had a lovely pint in the sun and ordered the Beavan 1/4 lb burger with chips and salsa. Really good food in a nice atmosphere. The Inn from the outside looks brooding and lives up to its reputation as the oldest in Wales, there is a lot of history to read inside the bar. Well worth a visit, but check ahead for opening times. The surroundings are fantastic being overlooked by the Skirrid mountain.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews