We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$179
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$93
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pilgrim Hotel(Much Birch)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel(Pontypool)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
159
82
24
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
82
24
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteeped in historyroaring fireghost huntlots of historylamb shankwarm welcomelovely old pubbig open firebutty bachfantastic atmosphereolde worldwell worth a visitserved quicklyposter bedbar maiddelicious meal
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We went on a mystery coach tour and we're booked in for a two course lunch I had the cheese ploughman with the chocolate fudge cake and cream for dessert.
The lunch was awesome big portion enough for two if needed the ambiance brill staff very friendly and attentive had a lovely time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pepper907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We held a ghost hunt here, which we have done a few times now.. The venue is fabulous. beautiful. The rooms are just gorgeous. the staff are amazing. The owner Geoff is a wonderful funny guy who i could spend all my time talking to. A place that is a must to visit. Worth a drive out. We come from Cambridge and would recommend to everyone. Love it Love it Love it.

Room Tip: If you want Cozy then room 3. otherwise, the other two have 4 poster and are fab..
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Very old building but quite a disappointment. Gardens very shabby, cigarette ends & rubbish scattered around. The food was mediocre, we had several different meals, vegetable lasagna was drowning in melted cheese but couldn't find one vegetable. Oven chips. The fishcakes were horrid, tasteless & oily. After reading all the reviews we were really excited to go but this was a big disappointment. We visited Llantony Abbey afterwards which was beautiful so the day Wasn't totally lost.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Stopped for pub. Lunch, quite busy but friendly staff.
Good pub food, looks like you need to book in evening

Pub remains in condition that shows its heritage. Fair size car park and on bus route

Choice of beers

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nichbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Dated but lovely country pub, a must visit if your in the area. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, the pub it's self is so intriguing with the history behind it and not forgetting the ghost stories. The food was really good, homely and traditional, I had the steak pie and my boyfriend had the sausage and mash, both was really good quality... if we are in the area again we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beans92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews