We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spooky”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We called in at this Inn on the off chance a few weeks ago. This is a very atmospheric building with a lot of history. We were just given the keys to the bedrooms to go and inspect them. They had great atmosphere, we were told a lot about the history of this Inn fascinating well worth the visit, not to mention the food which was brilliant, freshly cooked what a great place. It is not somewhere to go dressed in your finery but really well worth the visit extremely pleasant we will definitely go back very soon. Thank you to al the staff who work there for their time and friendliness.

Room Tip: well worth a visit
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPWHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Skirrid Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This pub, purportedly the oldest in Wales, takes its name from the Skirrid (Ysgyryd Fawr or 'great shattered') mountain which looms over the area at 486m. The charm of the place, with its age-old stone walls, friendly staff, rustic feel and rich history (they've even got a hangman's noose attached to its original beam which is a bit scary!) is almost enough to inveigle the visitor to the extent they ignore the quality of the food. If you like burnt oven chips, frozen fish, microwaved lasagne then you'll be fine. We had greater expectations.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bluterix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We went to this pub for lunch with our two children. The staff is very friendly and tell you about the story of the pub. On top of that, they serve very good food. We also loved the gloomy atmosphere of the place.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank dave12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We do love coming here. It's always such a laugh and the locals are so welcoming. I'm sure the tourists are an endless source of amusement. The landlord is a gem who never minds you having a giggle on the stairs. You won't know why until you visit! We don't come here for the food but as a vegetarian the nut roast last Sunday was very edible. Well done the person who made it. V moist! To anyone who moans about the food...this is not what this pub is about! If you want fine dining go to the Crown at Pantygelli 2 miles away. This is pub grub, ghosts, white witches, history and a lot of fun! Not dog friendly although bizarrely they have a dog!

Room Tip: Room 2 has the most ghost action!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogloverkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We went on a mystery coach tour and we're booked in for a two course lunch I had the cheese ploughman with the chocolate fudge cake and cream for dessert.
The lunch was awesome big portion enough for two if needed the ambiance brill staff very friendly and attentive had a lovely time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pepper907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanvihangel Crucorney
10.9 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
534 reviews
7.1 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
909 reviews
11.3 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
20.3 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pandy
73 reviews
0.0 km away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#1 of 3 in Pandy
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing