We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful old house done up to a high standard in...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Rhos y Cribed

Rhos y Cribed Farmhouse & Bwthyn (cottage)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rhos y Cribed Farmhouse & Bwthyn (cottage)
Farmhouse Bedroom 3 - with views over fields Farmhouse front porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Rhos y Cribed Farmhouse & Bwthyn (cottage)
Farmhouse Bedroom 3 - with views over fields
Farmhouse front porch
Farmhouse kitchen - complete with tractor high stools!
Farmhouse family bathroom - with double shower and rolltop bath with a view
Farmhouse ensuite for Bedroom 2
Farmhouse attic ensuite - bedroom 4
Farmhouse bedroom 2
Farmhouse attic bedroom 5
Farmhouse ensuite for bedroom 5
Farmhouse front porch - through the arched window!
Farmhouse attic bedroom 4
Farmhouse bedroom 2 with views over coast + fields towards St Davids
Farmhouse bedroom 3 with views over fields
Farmhouse Dining + Sitting room
Farmhouse Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HarryB614
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful old house done up to a high standard in a unique location”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It's a beautiful house with a large garden. It must have been done up very recently as the fixtures and fittings are brand new and contemporary. All the bedrooms are a good size with comfortable large double beds. Maybe one of the loft bedroom has a slightly smaller double, but our children were in there and certainly didn't mind. The first floor rooms are magnificent. Two have views over the fields to St Davids with its broad cathedral tower rising from the valley, the other looks out towards the sea, but the elevation of the cliffs hides the water. The ground floor has a single L shaped kitchen, dining room and sitting room, which is large enough to be comfortable for the capacity of the house. There is also a snug suitable for children, watching TV or just getting peace and quiet, but its stone floor and lack of curtains are not cosy. The garden is large with a graveled section opening to the parking area. This opens onto the road without a gate. The road is quiet but this was still a concern for us with young children. The large lawn is excellent for games and mucking around. It is three feet above the gravel section and young children could fall off the separating wall if they are not sensible. So, once again, supervision was needed. There is pretty good Wifi considering the location. I had to reboot the router a couple of times, but that's all. There are SMART TVs in the snug and sitting room, but the former would not connect to the internet during our stay, which was only slightly frustrating as we could entertain the children in many other ways. On the first floor there is a very large bathroom with two showers and a roll top bath position to look out of the west facing window and catch the sunset.
We used it to bathe the children at this time, which was fun. The bathroom fittings are brand new and look amazing. However the plug in the en suite in one bedroom did not hold water and the taps on the bath are already wobbly. We struggled to get hot water in the second floor showers, but it turned out this was user error and there was no shortage of pressure or warmth once we had learnt. The kitchen is well designed and attractive. My only tiny concern was that the knives were almost unusably blunt and the whetstone did little to help. If you are a foodie, maybe bring your own. The location is second to none and overall, I couldn't recommend the house highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Many thanks Harry for taking the time to write the detailed review, we take on board your points and will action them. We're delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Rhos y Cribed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W
Marshfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'll be back.”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The location is super; isolated, just 400m from a pretty harbour but readily walkable toSt Davids. The standard of decor and fit out shows genuine loving care has been put into this house; sash windows that actually work, and a super downstairs arrangement for sociable cooking and eating. All the rooms are lovely. Dog-friendly, too. Knockout!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing cut price or cheap in furniture and fittings.
Liked least: kitchen knives needed sharpening
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully decorated house in gorgeous setting. Lovely beaches and scenery nearby and v convenient for St David's. All 16 of us had a wonderful time. (We took both houses) Warmly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn J
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant time, we will definitely be returning.”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Rhos y Cribed is quite simply spectacular. Nestling in a picturesque harbour just minutes from St Davids, this newly restored property definitely has the wow factor. The house retains wonderful period features while still providing all the luxury facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Each of the 5 bedrooms has its own stunning view across Pembs. The hardest decision we had to make was which room to sleep in! For ladies looking to indulge in some relaxation time, there is also the master bathroom - I wont spoil the surprise, but think scented candles and Cadbury flake advert and you get the idea!
Should you want to hook up with reality, the house provides flat screen tvs and full internet services.Personally I was more than happy to ditch the mobile phone, but for families with stroppy teenagers, good news, they can still text and check out Facebook!
We travelled with children varying in age, and we found that there was something for everyone. The harbour provided opportunities for fishing and sailing, and is the starting point for wonderful coastal paths. There is also a small tea room which does a roaring trade in ice creams. St Davids is a short 15 min walk away, so the older children were able to go into town unaccompanied.
The house also provides wonderful opportunities for entertaining, with a large high spec modern kitchen, and dining room which can seat 12 people comfortably. There are a variety of good value restaurants and pubs locally if you prefer to just put your feet up.
Overall, Rhos y Cribed well and truly exceeded all our expectations, and we look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stinkypin
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious comfort and space surrounded by stunning coastal countryside”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous week in this spacious property with high ceilings large bedrooms and gorgeous bathrooms - perfect for our 3 families ( 8 children).
The nearby beaches are picture perfect and we enjoyed body boarding, walks/rambles, boat trips and snoozes on the sand. The house is close enough to St Davids to allow for pub/restaurant meals in the evenings ( we booked taxis ) but on the majority of nights we ate in as the kitchen is excellently equipped and the huge dining room table seated us all with room to spare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,535
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing