We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, peaceful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Packwood Cottage

Homely Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Homely Cottage
Path through to owners field where you are welcome to walk your dogs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Homely Cottage
Path through to owners field where you are welcome to walk your dogs
Private gate into secure cottage garden
Comfortable lounge area
Kitchen area
Master bedroom (King size bed)
Second bedroom (Twin beds)
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
A 'Sun-trap' private courtyard
Outdoor dining area
View to the rear of the cottage
Dylan Thomas's Boat house in Laugharne
Laugharne Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hi574
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful place”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a fabulous find. Just the right spot - tucked away in a great location very near Laugharne with the obvious benefits this brings. Inside there has obviously been a great deal of thought given to the interior and the furnishings are easily equivalent to a nice hotel. To top it off, for what it offers, this place is great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review both online and in the guest book. it is always great to know we have exceeded peoples expectations as that is what we aim to do.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you all again anytime!! ;0)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for & more”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

South Wales what a place this was our first trip to South West wales & so glad we took it, there is so much to do & see, we were a group of adults & (Bella our cockerpoo ) but would feel equally at home if we had the grandchildren with us. We went on the Dylan Thomas birthday walk which introduced us to some of his poetry, we visited Tenby & it's fantastic beaches & harbor & spectacular hotels. Do try the food & good old fashioned hospitality at the Cross House inn in Laugharne Andy is such a nice Guy. Also Sarah & Mark were really helpful they didn't bother us unless we asked, &, were happy to chat about the area.
An altogether fab four days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to see more of this beautiful part of the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful location - easy distance to travel to towns
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your week and that the weather did not spoil it for you. Walking in the rain just means you look forward to getting back to a cosy cottage, a hot drink, and a good film!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne B
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay and would stay again.”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage was very comfortable and close to the very pretty village of Laugharne. We really enjoyed our stay in this pretty part of Wales and would be happy to stay in this cottage again if we were ever to come back to this part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of wifi but that was not too big a deal for us
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Thank you for all your positive comments both online and in the guest book. We would love to welcome you again should you return to England and hope that next time we could gain that last mark from you! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a lovely location for exploring this part of Wales.”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Packwood cottage provides all you need for a relaxing break in this part of Wales. The cottage is fully equipped for self catering and provides a pleasant lounge/ dining area. It is pet friendly and has a small courtyard garden but also extended walking for dogs.
The location is suitable for visiting local places of interest including Laugharne, the beaches of Pendine, Carmarthen and further afield.
We took my 82 yr old mother with us and she truly enjoyed re-visiting old haunts. The only drawback for her was a difficulty in negotiating the stairs. Perhaps the owners would consider putting in a bannister on the lower section of the stairway. Other than this I would highly recommend the cottage for a home from home break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you for you review, we are glad your mother was able to recapture some of her memories of Laugharne. Thank you for the advise regarding a stair rail, it is something we will add when we are doing our next refresh of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing