We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and busy. ”

Cadwaladers - Barry Island
Ranked #5 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Barry
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) And now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes. So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafes and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
Restaurant details
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) And now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes. So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafes and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Happy staff and good service. Coffee and cakes were good if a little expensive. Dog friendly but a bit cramped inside.

Thank JP070766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine T, Public Relations at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello :) Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon :)
Kind regards,
Cath
Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

What a great place food was great even when busy staff very friendly and best of all dogs were welcome made a great start to our day

Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hello Dave :)
So glad you enjoyed your visit with your furry friend. We hope to see you again in the near future :)
Kind Regards,
Hannah
The Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Very friendly cafe, coffee and cakes very good , staff efficient. Seemed to be Popular with the locals for lunches, coffee and ice reams.

Thank Rosalind J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hello :)
Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon :)
Kind regards,
Hannah
Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Popped in for a light lunch as usual place we go to was full and we needed somewhere that allows dogs in.
Nice surroundings and comfy seats, there's plenty of space.

My wife had a sandwich and I had a bowl of chillie which came with some lovely brown bread. There wasn't anything else with it like rice but that was fine. I like really spicy food so wasn't expecting much but it really was lovely - just how I like it.

We had Americano coffees with our meal then another with some cake to finish. Coffee was lovely if a little expensive at £2.20. My chillie was £5.50 if I remember corrrectly.

Service was very good so another place we can use on a regular basis.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hello :)
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed our little retreat from the beach.
Hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards,
Hannah
Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

visited on what was a cold wet day but enjoyed choosing from the wide range of excellent ice cream and coffees available..would definetly visit again, excellent service

Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi Carl,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Hannah
Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadwaladers - Barry Island also viewed

 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Cadwaladers - Barry Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing