We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So dissapointed this year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have been staying here for several years and bring family, recommend friends, etc. I have to say I have been so disappointed this year. Our room has not been cleaned before 3:00 in p.m. and three times, just as I am lying down for siesta, I am woken up to have my room barely cleaned. They made bed, left towels and somewhat mopped the floor. The food in the restaurant has been awful this year, tasteless, very little selection, nothing like former years. The service is horrible and I don't think other than Martin, anyone took anytime to "serve|" us. The first night, my room was not ready and I had to stay in a mildew smelling suite room. Jairo used to take such good care of us and everyone was so happy to see us return and this year it just feels like everything from the grounds care to the entertainment, service and food has dropped significantly and yet the prices are much higher. We will not be staying here any more. After 6 years, it's time to find a different venue that can maintain it's level of excellence. So disappointed in Costa Alegre this year.

Room Tip: Our room had a "face lift" this year and the shower was new, as was the sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I w as a little unsure when I read the reviews that were over a year old and not that positive. We have been here 2 nights now and it is a wonderful place. It is clean, on a really nice beach which is suitable for swimming and children playing. It is spacious and has lovely grounds. The food is really good with a lot of choices and hardly 'Mexican'. There have been fish, shrimp, meat cooked very deliciously and good soups. The trouble is not eating too much. The price is unbelievable as the price for an oceanfront room is almost the price for the all-inclusive. Pool may be a little small if there are too many people but why swim in a pool when the warm ocean is so beautiful! I wont hesitate to recommend this to all my friends. My score out of 10 is 12.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What a shame! You didn't stay at the hotel, for the price, the rooms are very clean, cleaned daily, rooms have been updated new furniture, new drapery, new tvs, The restaurant has also had a facelift and the food is about 90% better than the last 4years we have stayed The staff is outstanding like returning home instead of vacationing. The location is the best, on the ocean, majority of rooms facing water, Do visit the hotel while you are there and see what you missed

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor great access to beach and restaurant; rooms on 2nd floor have nice balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MamaLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This was our second year staying at Costa Alegre. Truly Hairo, Jesus, Daniel and Mick offer some of the best service I've encountered in Mexico and this made us feel at home. While there was much more entertainment this year, I missed last year's Flaminco dancing, etc. One night I was sick and the very very loud Karaoke was simply annoying. (All Spanish, no English-dissapointing....)The food was good but not as varied or spicy as I remembered it being last year. The plumbing needs a complete overhaul. I was either scalded or freezing. With my husband being a plumber, we'd offer our services to fix it in exchange for rooms next year! The beds are small. It would be nice to have some rooms with one King Size bed and a small sitting area vs. 2 double beds ( one of which we didn't use). We specifically booked early and asked for oceanfront ground floor. We got oceanfront but not ground floor. For the price, it was great though. Next year , I think we may head back to the Stephany, which is by my reckoning the prettiest and most comfortable. We can have four stay in one large room with full kitchen and two bathrooms ( where the showers work) for about $30 per person. For the extra $15.00 we spent at Costa Allegre ( which is now raising its prices), we can make our own meals, eat out and buy cheap Cerveza at 8/8.88. One more thing that could be added is to have a tour desk in the lobby so travellers can book tours/rentals, etc. their first day and pay with their hotel bill. The website needs to be in proper English ad it would be great to have internet work in our room, instead of having to do our business in the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arachnoidalseainme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This was my second year in a row and it only got better than last year! there was more activities, more water sports and the staff are awesome!!! the rooms are simple but clean and the staff go out of their was to make whatever you want to happen, happen!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.3 km away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
450 reviews
0.5 km away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,039 reviews
0.3 km away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#9 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
64 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
28 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites

Address: Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Alegre Hotel Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing