We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Our friends and us have visited this hotel several times over the past 6 years or so.we were very disappointed this year ,Not only was the food disappointing and the drinks awful, the noise was terrible. It started at 10 am and went on until 10:30 every night.
One night the party continued outdoors until midnight, with small children still up with the party people. We had to move to another hotel after 3 days.We were told that the hotel is under new management.There were very few Canadians and Americans so we could due very little.This will not be the case in Feb. when more of us will be visiting. We moved to Casablanca Blanca- so peaceful, but a nuisance!


Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2015

Okay, as with my standard reviews, I will state the top and bottom three attributes of this hotel. Plus, I’ll add some rambling thoughts at the end (that you will want to read).
Top three are:
1. Staff. Staff was very nice, all way around. You will need to attempt (if you don’t know) Spanish and that goes a long way. Folks working there are not wealthy, so tips are appreciated;
2. Food. For those that like Mexican cuisine, this is your place. Everything is fresh (even the bread) and there is good variety every day. With a short wait, the food can be prepared for you. Of course, garbage is obtained at the snack bar (the wieners – yuk!). Oh, and the bar even has 100% agave (el Jimador);
3. Location on beach. Nice to just go into the water and float. You hear much of the quality (sanitation wise), but it seemed relatively clean. The resort is even located in town and much can be obtained by just walking into town.
The bottom three:
1. Dilapidated rooms. The rooms are pretty used. Most rooms have a second sink which may or may not work and make SURE the air conditioning works (we had to press them on this one). Much of the trim in the rooms was in need of servicing, the TV’s were vintage 1980 and beware of pests. On our last day, we had to run the AC to 16C to attempt to freeze the scores of ants that were staying for free;
2. Vendors - the beach is crawling with them. But in fairness, they are polite and we did purchase a lot from them;
3. No warnings of water hazards. Though the resort down the way gave warnings, this resort does not. Sort of nice to know if there are jellyfish, stingray or other hazards.
In all, the top attributes somewhat offset the low ones.
Now, some rambling thoughts. Gilberto Hernandez (gilbertours@hotmail.com) was great and can get you to/from PVR with ease at a decent cost--He will even have cold ones upon your arrival! Chicken boy (in town) is fantastic! Make sure you have pesos before you arrive in Guayabitos. Meleocon, probably best at night if you want to rock. PVR is an hour+ away. Spills from banana rides can harm you. Beware of parisitos. Delta airlines s*cks. If you want to avoid North American tourists (during the summer), this is the place to go.
Hope this assisted you! Take care.

Room Tip: Get higher floors with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhyolite6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We like to do our own cooking. The room is bright, good size with a nice balcony and it is on the beach. Really nice staff and very helpful. We will miss staying here. Prices will be going up so we will be seeking accommodation elsewhere. Hotels just behind the beach front ones are less costly and really, half a minute walk is nothing. General cost of everything in Guayabitos, food, booze and things like plastic containers, which you will always need to buy for your kitchen are double if not tripple in price higher then anywhere in Puerto Vallarta. This may be petty when you look at the peso ratio to the Canadian dollar but if you stay here for 3 or 4 months and have a home also to maintain in Canada, it really all adds up. We live on a limited income like many people. Also eating out is much better priced in PV......I wouldn't have thought it!
Anyway, back to hotel Costa alegre, it is a favourite of ours. Most of the rooms are all inclusive with very few cooking suites.

Room Tip: Wifi is hit and miss. The pool was in the process of being heated. The cooking unites face the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nowhitewinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first trip to Guayabitos and Costa Alegre Hotel. What a wonderful surprize. We were on the 3rd floor and what a wonderful view from our room. The staff go out of their way to make sure our needs are met. The rooms are very clean. We were concerned about the food as we are both Vegetarians but Victor and his staff went our of their way to accommodate us. We enjoyed the 'theme' nights. Their was a wide selection of food choices at every meal. The beach is fabulous and the ocean is great for swimming. We wondered how going to an 'all inclusive' would be. I would highly recommend Costa Alegre as it is very affordable and worth every penny. My only suggestion would be that it would be great to have a small fridge in each room. This was the best vacation I've had for years. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tismin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Thank you to the Management and Staff! another great year, what an effort is made
to improve the hotel, food, and staff. The food continues to improve and every effort
is made to cater to guests. Thank you for the hockey games and Olympic coverage.
This is a great experience if you want a Mexican holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.3 km away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
477 reviews
0.5 km away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,041 reviews
0.3 km away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#9 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
64 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
29 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites

Address: Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Alegre Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Alegre Hotel Rincon De Guayabitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing