We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Las Cabanas del Capitan(Rincon de Guayabitos)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Casitas(Rincon de Guayabitos)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kiramar Los Peyotes(Rincon de Guayabitos)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Decameron Los Cocos(Rincon de Guayabitos)
US$120
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Corona del Mar(Rincon de Guayabitos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Torreblanca Suites(Rincon de Guayabitos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca Resort(Rincon de Guayabitos)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Real(Rincon de Guayabitos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marina Azul(Rincon de Guayabitos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
31
37
11
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
37
11
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Okay, as with my standard reviews, I will state the top and bottom three attributes of this hotel. Plus, I’ll add some rambling thoughts at the end (that you will want to read).
Top three are:
1. Staff. Staff was very nice, all way around. You will need to attempt (if you don’t know) Spanish and that goes a long way. Folks working there are not wealthy, so tips are appreciated;
2. Food. For those that like Mexican cuisine, this is your place. Everything is fresh (even the bread) and there is good variety every day. With a short wait, the food can be prepared for you. Of course, garbage is obtained at the snack bar (the wieners – yuk!). Oh, and the bar even has 100% agave (el Jimador);
3. Location on beach. Nice to just go into the water and float. You hear much of the quality (sanitation wise), but it seemed relatively clean. The resort is even located in town and much can be obtained by just walking into town.
The bottom three:
1. Dilapidated rooms. The rooms are pretty used. Most rooms have a second sink which may or may not work and make SURE the air conditioning works (we had to press them on this one). Much of the trim in the rooms was in need of servicing, the TV’s were vintage 1980 and beware of pests. On our last day, we had to run the AC to 16C to attempt to freeze the scores of ants that were staying for free;
2. Vendors - the beach is crawling with them. But in fairness, they are polite and we did purchase a lot from them;
3. No warnings of water hazards. Though the resort down the way gave warnings, this resort does not. Sort of nice to know if there are jellyfish, stingray or other hazards.
In all, the top attributes somewhat offset the low ones.
Now, some rambling thoughts. Gilberto Hernandez (gilbertours@hotmail.com) was great and can get you to/from PVR with ease at a decent cost--He will even have cold ones upon your arrival! Chicken boy (in town) is fantastic! Make sure you have pesos before you arrive in Guayabitos. Meleocon, probably best at night if you want to rock. PVR is an hour+ away. Spills from banana rides can harm you. Beware of parisitos. Delta airlines s*cks. If you want to avoid North American tourists (during the summer), this is the place to go.
Hope this assisted you! Take care.

Room Tip: Get higher floors with a view
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhyolite6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We like to do our own cooking. The room is bright, good size with a nice balcony and it is on the beach. Really nice staff and very helpful. We will miss staying here. Prices will be going up so we will be seeking accommodation elsewhere. Hotels just behind the beach front ones are less costly and really, half a minute walk is nothing. General cost of everything in Guayabitos, food, booze and things like plastic containers, which you will always need to buy for your kitchen are double if not tripple in price higher then anywhere in Puerto Vallarta. This may be petty when you look at the peso ratio to the Canadian dollar but if you stay here for 3 or 4 months and have a home also to maintain in Canada, it really all adds up. We live on a limited income like many people. Also eating out is much better priced in PV......I wouldn't have thought it!
Anyway, back to hotel Costa alegre, it is a favourite of ours. Most of the rooms are all inclusive with very few cooking suites.

Room Tip: Wifi is hit and miss. The pool was in the process of being heated. The cooking unites face the pool or to the back, which still have a nice balcony and a little quieter. The ones facing the pool will enjoy fairly loud karaoke and music nightly until 10:00pm. No problem! We loved the spirit the locals have!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nowhitewinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first trip to Guayabitos and Costa Alegre Hotel. What a wonderful surprize. We were on the 3rd floor and what a wonderful view from our room. The staff go out of their way to make sure our needs are met. The rooms are very clean. We were concerned about the food as we are both Vegetarians but Victor and his staff went our of their way to accommodate us. We enjoyed the 'theme' nights. Their was a wide selection of food choices at every meal. The beach is fabulous and the ocean is great for swimming. We wondered how going to an 'all inclusive' would be. I would highly recommend Costa Alegre as it is very affordable and worth every penny. My only suggestion would be that it would be great to have a small fridge in each room. This was the best vacation I've had for years. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tismin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Thank you to the Management and Staff! another great year, what an effort is made
to improve the hotel, food, and staff. The food continues to improve and every effort
is made to cater to guests. Thank you for the hockey games and Olympic coverage.
This is a great experience if you want a Mexican holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have been staying here for several years and bring family, recommend friends, etc. I have to say I have been so disappointed this year. Our room has not been cleaned before 3:00 in p.m. and three times, just as I am lying down for siesta, I am woken up to have my room barely cleaned. They made bed, left towels and somewhat mopped the floor. The food in the restaurant has been awful this year, tasteless, very little selection, nothing like former years. The service is horrible and I don't think other than Martin, anyone took anytime to "serve|" us. The first night, my room was not ready and I had to stay in a mildew smelling suite room. Jairo used to take such good care of us and everyone was so happy to see us return and this year it just feels like everything from the grounds care to the entertainment, service and food has dropped significantly and yet the prices are much higher. We will not be staying here any more. After 6 years, it's time to find a different venue that can maintain it's level of excellence. So disappointed in Costa Alegre this year.

Room Tip: Our room had a "face lift" this year and the shower was new, as was the sink.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews