We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Manly Guest House(Manly)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$57
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Manly Bunkhouse(Manly)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$168
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
249
297
109
55
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
297
109
55
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanly winemanly beachgreat locationacross the roadquiet endsouth endsouth steynebeach frontsea viewbeach towelssurf clubfamily roomhotel restaurantmini barshelley beachan upgradequeen bed
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We travelled to Sydney from Brisbane and stayed at the Sebel Manly beach over the last weekend. Originally we picked the hotel because it was close to a function we attended on the Saturday night but we were blown away by the location overlooking Manly beach. What made the stay even more special were the helpful and friendly staff. Starting with Cyndia the front office manager through to all the staff we encountered during our stay we were impressed by the enthusiasm and happy greetings we received. A big bonus was the breakfast in the adjoining "Manly Wine" restaurant. Everything was cooked fresh to order from an extensive and enticing menu with generous portions. So book a package with breakfast included and if you can, get an ocean front room.

Thank you Cyndia & Staff!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Tom F

Thank you for the wonderful review from your recent stay. It is always lovely to receive such positive feedback. I agree the location is fantastic and the view from our Ocean view rooms is quite special.

Our team will be delighted to receive your comments and I will make sure Cyndia is recognised. Our team really do enjoy going the extra mile and surprising our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sebel for your next visit to Manly.

Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager
The Sebel Manly Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Opposite the surf club and Shelley Beach walk. Quiet comfortable and 4.5 star quality.
Fascinating views of iconic beach pines people and activity.
Welcoming generous and helpful staff.
Clean, well-equipped, thoughtfully stocked and comfortable balcony suite
Outdoor mid-floor Pool and spa a bit cold in winter, but
Village/street ambience was great setting for enjoying a" best ever" breakfast..
from the a la carte menu.
Eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes and sourdough selection all cooked to perfection!!!
Thankyou also for the gorgeous! and unexpected welcome gift in my room, free upgrade and absolutely lovely stay!!! - made me feel like royalty.
Highly recommend, but would hate it if too many peolpe got wind of this well-kept secret.....

Room Tip: East facing higher floors get the morning sun and the iconic view
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Ruth J

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you had such a great stay. I am delighted that enjoyed the upgrade, the Ocean view rooms have such a fabulous view. It is especially lovely in the morning as the sun rises.

Our team will be so pleased to know they exceeded your expectations and enjoyed the welcome gift. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another secret getaway.

Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager
The Sebel Manly Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We booked a room reading the description, “Set directly opposite Manly Beach, … All accommodation features a PRIVATE balcony with outdoor furniture” so we decided to stay there instead of our usual hotel in Coogee. When we got there, we were given a ground floor room of their annex behind their main building with a patio facing the side wall of their swimming pool. We could see pool side furniture above our head and anybody could walk into our patio from the swimming pool. So we went back to the reception and asked them to change the room. A very loud (Spanish?) woman at the reception said in a very penetrating way, “LET ME TELL YOU THAT WHEN YOU BOOK ON THE INTERNET, THAT’S WHAT YOU GET!” So, we had to defend ourselves saying “the booking site did not mention any of that and we want a room with a PRIVATE balcony…” After a few more exchanges of words, they agreed to change the room but we were already exhausted with the argument which we were not prepared to have. We went there to relax, NOT to have an argument.
When we got assigned a different room by another woman at the reception, she made a song and dance routine saying “We made a special upgrade for you”, “This upgrade is really exceptional”, “You can’t usually stay in that room at that price”, etc. for every one of which we were made to feel obliged to say thank you and the whole thing became very unpleasant. We only asked for a room true the description!
The new room had a fabulous ocean view and was very spacious. We were very happy about the aspect of the room, and if it had been easier to contact the reception for the following little things, our stay would have been much more comfortable, but somehow, that wasn’t the case. We did contact the reception for:
 A tissue box and a shower cap. The guy who brought the items to the room was pleasant enough but the experience of ringing the reception was not. So we really wanted to avoid having anything to do with the reception again, which made the whole stay very uncomfortable. And during the second day, we had to (very reluctantly) ring them:
 To get the heater going. For that, they had to do something outside the room, so it was not our fault that heater was not working. Yet the same loud woman said “it’s warm here though!” as if we shouldn’t be using the heater! She had a work jacket on and are we supposed to have a jacket on in a hotel room??
After the first call to the reception, we decided to deal with the following ourselves:
 one wine glass had a clear lip mark on it – VERY off putting
 shower screen was not wide enough for the splashing of the shower head (we tried to adjust the angle but didn’t let us), thus the bathroom floor had a big puddle of water. I accidentally stepped into the cold puddle in the middle of the night. An extra floor towel would have helped, but I didn’t dare having another unpleasant experience with the reception staff.
If they had provided us with a room true to their description in the first place, none of these would have happened/mattered. The location of the main building of the hotel is fabulous and our stay could have been much more pleasant. We will stick to our usual hotel in Coogee from now on!

Room Tip: Have a printed room description handy and be ready to defend yourself,
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Em K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Em K

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. I apologise that we have not met your expectations. I have reviewed your feedback with our team and I know your comments will assist our team in improving their guest service.

Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager
The Sebel Manly Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Spent one night here with my sister, we were very pleased to be upgraded to an ocean view room. The room was spotlessly clean and had sweeping views over Manly and the esplanade. up early for a glorious sunset and people watching. Look forward to returning in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: Go for the north tower rooms that have ocean views
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Karen S

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. It is always lovely to receive such positive comments and great to see you enjoyed the wonderful location. The mornings are always a hive of activity across at the beach with the bold and the beautiful swimmers group that meet every day of the year to swim around to Shelley Beach and back.

We look forward to seeing you in the summer.

Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager
The Sebel Manly Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a night at this hotel and cannot speak any more highly of it. We recently returned from an extended trip to Canada and USA and stayed at some of the top hotels and the Manly Sebel exceeds most of those in regard to the friendly and efficient service offered by their young team. It is ideally located opposite the beach and the amenities are great. Plenty of eateries around (including the superb one in the hotel) and only a short 10 minute walk to the Manly Ferry. We will definitely be returning for more stays at this piece of paradise.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Steve B

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. It is great to see you had such a wonderful stay and that our team exceeded your expectations. They will be delighted to receive such positive comments.

I agree that the Hotel is in a lovely location and Manly has some great dining options in and around the Hotel. It is a great spot to relax and enjoy the beachside lifestyle.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nikki Little
General Manager
The Sebel Manly Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews