We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sebel Manly Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$205
US$165
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Quest Manly(Manly)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$143
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$125
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
229
291
107
55
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
291
107
55
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanly winemanly beachgreat locationacross the roadsouth endsouth steynebeach frontsea viewbeach towelssurf clubfamily roommini barshelley beachhotel restaurantlaundry facilitiesqueen bedlate check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in the Sth tower. Room was a decent size with a king bed and good size balcony.....no view unfortunately. But this hotel is in a great location, handy to everything Manly has to offer and across the road from the beach. Also a 10 min walk to gorgeous Shelley Beach..... would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 677sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

HI 677sally

Thanks for the great feedback. Next time you want to book make sure you reserve the ocean view rooms. Our south tower is 10 meters further back from the beach so location is still incredible but yes the view is not quite the same.

Shelley beach is our favorite spot in Manly and did you know the only west facing beach on the east coast of Australia

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Manly

Phil Reid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Wow this was gorgeous had a great view of the beach we had a kitchen so we could cook for ourselves the apartment was very clean had a washing machine so you can keep up with holiday washing plus a dryer

Small Pool but the beach is straight across the road staff were very helpful and friendly they supplied sun screen at reception before you hit the beach could not fault our stay

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

HI Kathleen J

Thanks for the response. So glad you enjoyed the hotel ad its amazing location. Being right on the beach we often find that guests forget their sunscreen and Slip Lop Slap is our mantra to stop sunburn ruining your holiday.

Looking forward to seeing you next time

Phil Reid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

We stayed in a room on the fifth floor of the south tower, with a partial view of the ocean. It was a wonderful location, close to the beach, close to the walking path to Shelly Beach, convenient to the ferry. Manly can get a bit overrun with people, but the Sebel is at a quieter end of the beach. The convenient guest laundry was a real perk. The only tweaks I would suggest is that the Wi-Fi was a little wobbly/unreliable, and the bed linens were a little scratchy. But we would definitely come back to the Sebel Manly, no question. The best thing was being able to leave the door to the balcony open and listen to the crashing surf overnight.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ambrosiamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hello,

I am so thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and loved your room in the South Tower. I couldn't agree with you more, we are so close to the amenities and hustle of Manly, yet we are on the quieter side of the beach, so you can really relax and enjoy the peace and quiet and fall asleep to the crashing of the waves. I am happy that you found our location so convenient!

It is great the hear that you benefited from our free laundry room for our guests. I will certainly mention the WiFi connection to my maintenance manager and he will check it to ensure it is working well. I will also mention the bed linen to my housekeeping team.

Great to hear that you will definitely be back to stay here with us, no questions asked! We hope your next trip will be soon, so you can come back and once again listen to the waves crashing. We definitely look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nanor Shokayan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The hotel has two towers the 2nd tower is behind the first. The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar. Next door is the Manly Wine and Restaurant the hotel has an arrangement with Manly Wine for breakfast only however, if you are booked for breakfast you do not get the full menu. The hotel is comfortable and staff are pleasant, we were on the 5th floor which gives a good view of the beach. The shower is large but is difficult of for elderly guests as there are no hand holds or a wooden stool to sit on. We were disappointed with the balcony which was small with two firm chairs and a small table. It was obvious the room had now been visited by a senior manager for some time as there was lots of bird pooh over the floor and furniture, we had to clean it off the chairs before sitting on them. Of course the birds were regular visitors!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank 208Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hello,

I am so happy that you found our hotel very comfortable, our views breathtaking and our staff pleasant.

That is correct, we do not have our own restaurant or bar and we are in a partnership with the restaurant next door. With the breakfast package the restaurant provides a large selection of a la carte dishes as well as a juice and coffee to each guest who have purchased a breakfast package. The restaurant also provides room service to all our guests.

Most hotel showers do not have hand rails. We do have rooms with hand rails and special access rooms to assist with elderly guests. Upon booking next time please ask for one of these rooms, in order to help make your stay more comfortable. Furthermore, we have portable shower chairs which can be brought up to your room at any time to assist.

All our rooms have a balcony, the size may differ slightly depending on the way the building is. The balconies get cleaned after each guests checks out to have them nice and clean for all our guests. I do therefore apologise for that, as we do try our best to ensure that all our balconies are clean.

We hope you do stay with us again in the future and thank you again for your kind words regarding our hotel, location and our helpful staff.

Kind Regards,
Nanor Shokayan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

The location is one of the best in the world. The rooms facing the beach would probably be beautiful but alas we were in the other tower facing the alley. The rooms were comfortable (especially the bed) however nothing could make up for the constant array of trucks emptying garbage in the allay. Often they blocked the whole passage preventing access theough ti the beach. Only stay in the North Tower. Also the switch for the outdoor spa is in a most inconvenient position.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hello Stephen,

I am thrilled that you loved our location and enjoyed the beautiful Manly Beach! I am happy that you liked our newly refurbished rooms and our brand new comfortable beds.

Regarding the truck lane-way blockage, we do certainly apologise for this. I have informed my Maintenance manager who has assured me that he will speak to the truck companies to ensure they do not block guest usage of the lane. We will certainly rectify this situation today.

Due to Australian pool and safety standards, the spa switch needs to be placed away from the spa as an individual should only be spending a certain amount of time straight in a spa, due to its temperature. I hope this helps clear up your concerns about the placement of the switch.

We hope you do stay with us again and you get to once again enjoy our location.

Kind Regards,
Nanor Shokayan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews