We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Tasting and BBQ

Every month Mitchelton hosts a Sunday family day with BBQ food available from The Provedore cafe... read more

Reviewed 7 February 2021
GoodDogRex
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Notable for wine and architecture

Mitchelton is a relative newcomer to the Nagambie area; the first vines were planted in 1969. The... read more

Reviewed 29 January 2021
619jeffry
,
Essendon, Australia
Read all 93 reviews
  
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
46
32
5
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
46
32
5
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door goulburn river chocolate factory regional victoria aboriginal art gallery observation tower staff were very friendly muse restaurant wonderful wine tasting the hotel looked lovely lovely experience an easy drive nice walk blown away plenty of space bottle of wine ministry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

Every month Mitchelton hosts a Sunday family day with BBQ food available from The Provedore cafe. Add some great live music and a couple of wines and you’re in for a very pleasant Sunday afternoon. Combine your visit with a tasting and the trip here is well worthwhile.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank GoodDogRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021 via mobile

What a surprising disappointment. From the flippantly discourteous welcoming staff to the poor quality breakfast. Whilst Michelton Winery is snuggled in natural beauty and boasts an awe inspiring array of wild birds and swans.. the building itself is sterile and uninviting. The welcome staff were abrupt and obviously uninspired by their jobs. The male Conceirge mechanically reeled of the places of interest and then walked away. Baggage must be self delivered! In fact as soon as you leave the reception desk you are left to fend for yourself.
Rooms are comfortably large and the beds and amenities are certainly adequate but the prices of the drinks in the mini bar are ridiculously astronomic. Most notably water bottles are not left by beds.
Dinner was quite varied and delicious so it was a big surprise that the breakfast was hugely disappointing. My husband could not stomach eating the overly spiced, soggy muesli and I left my watery baked beans, cold egg and under toasted bread. At least the coffee was ok. The kitchen staff can surely not pride themselves on their meal service.
My advice.. take in the beauty of the area, sit by the magnificent lake..even stay for dinner but do not stay overnight at Michelton. Not until management picks up their game, throws off their lethargy and aims for a higher standard of customer care..

Date of experience: February 2021
3  Thank 123,656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Mitchelton is a relative newcomer to the Nagambie area; the first vines were planted in 1969. The winery's distinctive buildings were designed by Robin Boyd, the most acclaimed architect of his day. The distinctive Modernist style is not everyone's cup of tea, but it is certainly notable. The 55 meter tall tower is Michelton's icon. Michelton has always had a good reputation for its wines. The winery won the Jimmy Watson Trophy for best red wine in 1991. The vineyard is located in a loop in the Goulburn River, which moderates the summer heat. Michelton grows riesling, shiraz and Rhone Valley varieties, which do well in the region. It pays to call ahead if you want to do some tasting.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank 619jeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021

We had a great wine tasting experience at this winery. Friendly staff .
Setting is just beautiful with plenty of other things to do, gallery, wine tasting, the tower views or a nice walk. We left with four boxes of wine! A great day out in regional Victoria, an easy drive home although it would equally have been nice to stay as the hotel looked lovely. Will visit again !!!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Roshan_wp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

My partner and I spent the weekend in Nagambie so of course wanted to see Mitchelton after not being there since we were teenagers (now in our 50’s)... driving into the winery is beautiful and the grounds and structures are inviting... unfortunately that changed once entering the cellar door. We knew due to COVID that we wouldn’t be able to do a wine tasting as you had to pre book but we were interested in buying some wine.. the girl that greeted (of you could call it that) us at the door was unhelpful and lacked customer service qualities that I would have expected from such a large tourist attraction.
It’s such a pity as those little things make such an impression on visitors... I would encourage management to look at who is representing the business...

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank llisae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews