We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lindenderry at Red Hill(Red Hill)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stony Creek Cottages(Red Hill)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hostel Red Hill(Red Hill)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Bay Motel Safety Beach(Mornington Peninsula)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jackalope Hotel(Merricks North)(Great Value!)
US$443
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Motor Inn(Rosebud)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haven Red Hill(Red Hill)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
66
14
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmueslispa bathopen fireplacedelicious lunchwine tastingcellar doorgreat food and winecold wintersfabulous placeperfect settingperfect weekendmid weekcontinental breakfastmornington peninsulatwo nightsking bedmy partner
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We booked the 'quiet " villa and it was , perfectly quiet and private. But there were a few let downs.
Firstly the water pump that kept pressurizing the system every 2-3 minutes for 15 seconds. That feels like an eternity . Its not a problem during the day but in the quiet of the night it drives you insane.
Secondly the total lack of reasonable hanging space. One mobile clothes rack in front of your bed. Not a drawer to be seen. You would think that the unit would have a proper built in robe and maybe some bedside chests.
Thirdly The bathroom. What a dumb design! the shower is a black hole. The tiles are black as are the fittings and NO light. When you leave the shower there's no towel rail within cooee.
Fourthly the air conditioner in the sleeping area did not work. Just came up with the error message E9. Plus all the remotes had flat batteries or were faulty.
Last of all is the dumb design of the place, a huge spa in the center of the room, the bed has a view of the side fence. If they would face the bed to the view at least you would wake up looking at the stunning landscape. And if then, they would put a wall behind the bed to hang some clothes that would be even better. Plus a door on the toilet would be a bonus.
So in all for $500 per night its pretty poor value. Compared with Port Philip Estate accom it is a very poor second.

Room Tip: I think we definitely had the best room.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hello Tony,

Thanks for the review.
We are sorry to hear that the design of our villa was not to your preference, as you can see from many reviews below many other visitors have loved the experience. We have raised your concerns to discuss with our team, as we see all feedback as important and valuable, we appreciate you taking the time out to share this with us. Hopefully you were able to take some positives away from your stay as we have a lot to offer. Unfortunately for us our building is not architecturally designed like Port Phillip, however the rooms do have wonderful vineyard views, a lovely warmth, plenty of natural light and of course are walking distance to our bistro and cellar door. Kindest regards, Polperro Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We had a very restful mid- week stay at Polperro. We stayed in villa 4 which is tucked away at the back of the block of four villas and it is the most private. Love the concept of the key pad entry so you don't need to check in or check out through reception. The villa is huge, and all in the one space -modern, colour coordinated throughout with tasteful decor. There is a spa bath in the middle of the room, and to the side a well equipped kitchen with more than enough items for a continental breakfast - two different types of juice, bread, muesli, spreads,tea coffee and herbal infusions. There is a lovely deck looking over the vineyard with easy chairs and tables. We were out on the deck in a flash with books, a bottle of bubbles and some nibbles and just enjoyed the calm and quiet ! We had the best sleep as it is so quiet and peaceful. Really loved the breakfast - the spreads are in unlabelled jars so that was a bit of a guessing game ! We enjoyed the space right up to check out time - thanks so much for an enjoyable stay !

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nyall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Hello Nyall, Thanks for taking the time to review Polperro Villas. We are so pleased to hear that you loved your stay and had a relaxing visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kindest regards, Polperro Management .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This review is only based on the accommodation.

We booked two nights at Polperro in early September on our Wedding day (reception was at Port Phillip Estate of which I have a separate and glowing review) and were bitterly disappointed with the accommodation provided at Polperro. The lack of any apparent thought as to the service and accommodation provided was concerning for supposed “Boutique Accommodation” especially one that charges $450 per night!

Let’s start with the bath room which when I went in a Sunday morning I noticed that the blind in the only window was down. Opening it up I discovered why…the view directly outside was of rainwater tanks, AC compressor units, various pumps, and an ugly colourbond fence! Oh and a few rusty tools lying around….so best shut the window! I’ve worked in construction for over twenty years and I appreciate that these are required but couldn’t a bit of thought be done as to where to place them?

Secondly there is no heating in the bathroom (not even a cheap electric towel rail) which may be OK on a warm day but not so great in winter….and this also means that as the gap in the shower is so wide it’s almost impossible to shower without getting a bucket load of water on the floor which you then try and dry with a bath mat or hand towel until you realise that you don’t have anywhere to dry them.

Oh and that brings me to another issue; apparently they only “refresh” the room every four days! For $450 per night!

Let’s move to the main living area. Firstly the walls are so poorly insulated that we could easily hear a conversation in the apartment next door (I think that other reviewers have made the same comment) as well as people walking on the floor boards. Secondly the designers obviously didn’t think that people would want to hang their clothes anywhere so instead of having proper BIR you get a cheapo coat rack with castor wheels (the type share housemates use). The spa bath has a water feature but unfortunately because it appears that no one thought about it the pump is not hidden in a sound proofed enclosure but instead noisily runs along at the same time. The only heat is a reverse cycle AC unit apart from a dinky little bar radiator that is hidden away and not plugged in.

The kitchenette has a coffee machine that makes about the coldest coffee that I’ve ever had. Didn’t recognise the brand either so goodness knows where is comes from. The toast spreads were in the fridge which meant that the honey (once we worked out what is was) was rock solid and none of the toast spread jars had labels on them so no idea what they were until we opened them. The (small amount of) milk was in the same tetra pack that it came from the shop (seriously guys couldn’t you spring for some tasteful carafes or similar? You market yourself as “boutique”? $450 per night and you supply a small tetra pack of milk) which lasted about enough for one breakfast (luckily I didn’t eat the muesli otherwise we’d have been out of luck) and although the sliced round loaf of bread was nice no one seem to have thought to supply a toaster that was big enough to accommodate the slices of bread without turning them around halfway through.

When we went on the Sunday afternoon to get more milk and juice from the bistro (as per the instruction sheet) the staff there didn’t know where any of that stuff was kept! So is one hand talking to the other at Polperro? After a bit of searching the best they could do was a 2 litre container of milk but no juice. All this for $450 per night! Honestly guys it should be pretty easy instructions to your staff!

The most disappointing thing about the whole experience was that when I rang to confirm the booking (initially I wanted the Villa Premium) the staff member personally recommended our villa (number 3) as she said it was the best. Having seen the outside of the other apartments I suspect that we were ”sold a pup” as two of the other apartments had views to their sides as well as the front and only one adjoining wall, the other was the premium villa, and our apartment (number 3) has two sets of adjoining walls and views only to the front.

Lastly it’s interesting that Polperro reference these as “Villas” throughout their web page except for one reference to them being an “apartment”. Sorry but in my opinion a “Villa” is a standalone building and these apartments are definitely not that.

With so many accommodation options on the Mornington Peninsula I’d recommend that you steer clear of Polperro.

Room Tip: Avoid Villa Three
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank MikeQ962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hello Mark,
Thank-you for taking the time to provide your opinion of our accommodation both here on
Trip Advisor and Google Reviews. As you can see from past feedback many guests loved their stay at our property, nonetheless, we are sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations.
Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My husband and I were well overdue for a 'just the 2 of us' getaway, and our anniversary falling mid-week provided the perfect opportunity to take advantage of a slightly discounted rate at the luxurious 'premium' Villa.
Although the Bistro was closed due to our mid-week booking, the recommendation of staying in and having one of the specially prepared gourmet picnic hampers was taken up... and my-oh-my what a great idea that was! So much food and such a lovely way to suit ourselves while sampling the vineyard's EXCELLENT wines. Great way to spend a cold winter night - the spa and sauna helped to warm us up too :)

Only slight negative comment I had is that the term 'villa' refers to separate, free-standing buildings in my mind, so we were a little taken aback to find one large building with essentially 4 large rooms acting as 'villas', but once inside they were cozy and private.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Danielle,
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations at Polperro. We love that you were able to take advantage of the rooms facilities and indulged in our estate made picnic and delicious wines! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time.
Kindest regards,
Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Our Polperro Estate villa (villa no.2) was beautifully furnished with modern finishes, the largest indoor hot tub I have ever seen and an awesome iron-cast open fireplace, making the cold winters nights very cosy! There is also a gorgeous verandah that looks down over the vineyard and native flora. The only qualm we had, was that the bathroom was rather small and cramped in comparison with the rest of the villa and tended to get quite wet with the layout of the shower.

We were provided with a lovely little continental breakfast for the duration of our stay arrangement which was ample before venturing out to other parts of the countryside for the day. The property is centrally located for visiting other wineries in the Mornington Peninsula region, which made it logistically very convenient to get around. We used uber to get around some nights when we planned to have a few drinks, but please be aware that due to the location you are in, you may struggle to get an uber depending on the time of day and weekday it is. This being the case, some nights it may be more convenient to drive yourself (Mon - Thurs).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear James,
Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we agree that the rooms are super cosy with the open fire and luxurious spa bath. The bathrooms in the room are small as you mentioned, this was an intentional decision as the Spa is the major feature and we wanted to maximise the space for relaxation in the room, after all you don't spend a long time in the shower . We have however brought this up with our management team to look into for any improvements that can be made . Glad to hear that you found the location to be very convenient, as well as Uber we have many different local transport operators that cater to our guests, we highly recommend organising prior to a stay with us so you can take full advantage of all the amazing wine in our region! We hope to see you again soon at Polperro.
Kindest regards,
Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews