We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“awesome location, spacious cabin, beautiful view...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Grits Carlton

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
angeladav...
1 review
“Very poor condition”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

VERY worn and neglected! Furniture needs replacing, carpet stained, kitchen appliances and cabinets filthy! Had to go to store to buy broom and cooking utensils because none in cabin. Sleeps 12, but only 5 dining room chairs at table. Cabin floor still had chips on it from previous renters which leads me to believe it hadn't even been vacuumed! Bathroom tub and showers extremely moldy. Always rented from Sugar Maple and have never had this issue before! Wyndham should make owners meet requirements before representing neglected cabins!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Dear angeladavidb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K P
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was OK.”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My family rented two cabins in the "resort" for a family reunion. The parents (4 couples) stayed in this cabin. They mostly just sleep there, choosing to hang out at the big cabin with everyone during the day. The cabin itself was ok. They said all of the bathroom showers were moldy and had mildew. And the top bathroom leaked into the main floor bathroom. The kitchen for this cabin was big. The pictures are a little mis-leading. It makes it look like the cabin is on its own, but this is a "resort" with cabins right next to each other. Also, the website is mis-leading. It said there was pool access, but when I asked for the code, I was told without any explanation that there wasn't any access to the pool. Lastly, there isn't any wi-fi, just in case that is something important for someone. Also, parking is at a minimum. You can fit two, maybe three car- very tightly. Overall, the cabin was ok, but not one I would choose again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Dear KP,

Thank you for taking to post this review of The Grits Carlton. We offer many cabins that feature Wireless internet and pool access; unfortunately this cabin does not advertise having either one. Please call one of our Customer Service Reps the next time you visit and they can help choose a property that offers all the amenities you desire to give you that much needed vacation.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.

Thanks,
Jeff G
Area General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leece C
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome location, spacious cabin, beautiful view, needs some updates though”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location is one of the best. Close to everything, yet remotely placed in the Smokies. The view from all three decks was fabulous. Tha cabin was very spacious with very big rooms, tons of bathrooms, showers, sleeping arrangements, grill, coffee maker [ Mr. Coffee as you need ot bring your own filters] and lots of rooom to hang out , eat and relax. The pool table, air hockey and fooseball work, but do need to be replaced and they are very old and somewhat damaged. Many years of usuage I am sure! The bedrooms rugs really need to be replaced. They were cleaned , but just very stained and discolored and just very gross. We wore our shoes/flip flops 24/7. We had to call maintence 3 times, they came immediately! On vaca I do not want to be calling maintenace for air conditioning not working, a kitchen faucet that needs to be replaced and won't turn off, and a shower nozzle that is broke and won't work. The owners needs to do some updating and all would be great. The decor of the cabin is very rustic and we loved that too! Just do some updates update and you would be the Grits Carlton. Would stay again, but not here unless updates happen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location spacious views
Liked least: needs to be updated
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Dear Leece412,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and also we are happy that you found your cabin had plenty of space to accommodate your family’s needs and that you enjoyed the view from your decks. I’ve forward your comments regarding the game tables and area rugs to our maintenance department for assessment in regards to the need to replace.

I am so sorry that you had a problem while staying and had to have maintenance out. We pride ourselves on our customer service and make every attempt to handle any issues in an efficient and timely manner. Please accept my sincere apologies.

We look forward to having you with us again in the very new future.

Sincerely,
Sherri T.
Assistant General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael O
Alexandria, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eh. It was just ALRIGHT.”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

So I guess I will write a review here seeing that Wyndham has decided to delete my review left on their website and I wanted to let everyone know the experience we had. Upon arriving we realized that the DirectTV was not working so we called customer service and they sent a technician out while we were out to dinner, when arriving back to the cabin we saw there was a note on the door that the tech would be in contact with the owner to try and get the problem fixed. Later that night the DirectTV still was not fixed so we called back to customer service and about thirty minutes later it was back on. A couple more problems we found were that the air hockey table did not work (which I was told when I had posted the review on Wyndham that we had to wiggle the plug by an e-mail in response to my review?), a tv down stairs did not have volume to the tv, the downstairs had got so hot even with air on that we could not breathe in the middle of the night, the stove kept turning itself on so we had to call and have a repair man come out for that and to check out a couple of the other problems listed above, and lastly the bathtub upstairs you had to have the bathtub and shower head running at the same time, there was no way to only have one running. I would not stay here again, they did not try to make my stay better at all with as many problems as we had. They sent a reply back by e-mail to my review left on the website and the lady pretty much had called me a liar about the problems because she had been in the cabin a couple weeks before our stay, but silly thing is, the repair man could not even fix the problems we were having and saw that their were problems. In the e-mail response she had offered us a 10% discount off our next stay. I will not be staying with Wyndham again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
from
US$149
/ Night
Book Now
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing