We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laurel Mountain Cabins
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sevierville
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Pinecrest Townhomes(Pigeon Forge)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
2
2
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
2
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I rented a cabin from Mountain Laurel Cabin Rentals in May 2014. It was our first family road trip. The cabin looks just like the pictures on the website. Clean, modern, well furnished, internet etc...

Travelers be were the directions that are given by the company to get to the cabin from the office are not very clear and your GPS will lose signal as go head into the mountains as well as your cell phones.

Pet Owners: make sure to bring your tick and flea replete. No need to bring your goodies bowls or beds the cabin owner provides them.

Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DecoTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We went there to get married the owner was totally awesome are wedding was back 5/5/05 not real sure but if I remember right she told us that we were one of the first couples to rent the starlight we were going to get married by the waterfall but it was raining that day she let us decorate the cabin how ever we wanted and the preacher come right there and married us we are from N. Michigan an had a four wheel drive so that was not a problem we were actually quite happy that it was so secluded the best part was she let us bring our little dog and then when we told her that we were going to go camping so we could save a little money and be away from home longer not that the price was bad at all we left for the day and when we return there was a note on our cabin that said it was kinda there off season and if we would like that we could stay for the next 2 weeks for $25.00 a night. I don't care were you go slow or not who ever dose something like that. Don't know what else to say it was awesome and we can't wait in 3 yrs we will have been married ten years and plan on spending our anniversary there. John & Penny

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boardcutter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed in the Starlight Cabin which you need to know is very very far from Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. The price was excellent for 3 nights at $260.00 and the manager was super accommodating. She said it had a fireplace and when we got there it was only a small heater that sits in the room with "flames" you can turn on- think space heater with red lights. We stay at cabins in the area several times per year and this one was decorated so cute. The bed was really comfy and the cabin was clean. The hot tub outside was kinda dirty as another reviewer wrote- we found a lot of gunk in it that was gross. Our water went off for a few hours and she did come fix the well pump asap for us. All night long we heard loud noises coming from the pump below and it was just aggravating.
If you want to be close to attractions, this is not the place for you. I actually live in the country and this was far for me. We kept driving thinking, "how much further is this gonna be!'. Thankfully, we drove our truck or my car would not have made it up the dirt roads.
The large projection TV is really nice, but the loveseat is really small for 2 people(we are slim and still couldn't fit).
This cabin is the type that when you leave for the day, it is too far to return to until you are finished for the day. If you want something that is super secluded and clean, it is great. The manager is really nice and the price cannot be beat. I would suggest this cabin for a couple wanting to get away and relax, but not for those who want to into town a bunch. It is hard to find so expect to get lost a few times too.

Room Tip: The fireplace in Starlight is a space heater and the beds are super comfy!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RitaR239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

When we arrived we were unaware that the roads were as steep as they were. Site says four wheel drive advisable but it is a MUST this time of year. We spent our five days hiking in and out by foot.
The cabin was nice but not very clean. I had to clean the restrooms before I would anyone used them. Could use some more seating area in living room as we had 7 people and not enough room. However the "big" screen is downstairs so there are two tv veiwing areas but the projection screen had a bulb out so the screen was a greenish color.
Didnt use the hot tub so dont know if it worked. The door to the outside balcony in the master was broke so we could not use it.
Veiw was great and kitchen was user friendly with all cooking and eating needs.
NO service for our tmobile cells.
While we made the best of it and had a good time it would have been nice for the owner(who lives above outrcabin) to stop and check on us to see if we need a ride to the main road or help with packages in and out (as she has a four wheel drive.)
I would recommend this to someone who want s to stay inside the cabin and not want to go to town. It may have been a fluke in the weather but even when it rained the roads were not passable so..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossyoak725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We were supposed to stay in the Starlight cabin for Dec 5-7, 2009 for our 10th anniversary.

This place had great rates (cheaper than most cabin rentals) and stated on their website that they were "minutes" away from the attractions of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. The owner seemed very nice and accomodating over the phone and we were very excited about our trip. It was our first "honeymoon".

On the way to the cabin we kept looking at each other and wondering how much farther....we were getting pretty far away from town ! First on a 4 lane road, then down to a 2 lane road, then a dirt and gravel 1 way road. (see number 1 below).

When we arrived we checked the cabin out thoroughly and found that the hot tub was not operational and it had gritty dirt in the bottom. It would not come on at all. Called owner and she suggested checking the breaker. It kept kicking back off. We were so disappointed. We hadn't yet unpacked, so we asked for another cabin but they were booked. We waited around for about 20 minutes to see if any solution could be made to the problem and the owner said it would be 2 hours before she could get to us and she would try to find a repair man to come out but it was a weekend. My husband is an industrial journeyman/mechanic and he said it wasn't the breaker, there was something else going on to make it kick off repeatedly.

Based on my husband's mechanical knowledge (said it wouldn't be an easy fix) we decided to ask for a refund. The owner was nice about everything and has promised to refund our money (apx 252.00 for 2 nights). I was very thankful for this :). We were bummed out but at least owner was willing to work with us.

The cabin itself was adorable and was just as pictured on the website. It would make a really cute cabin for a couple to enjoy. There ARE other cabins nearby so you are not totally isolated and I know this is important to some people.

Things you will need to know that we didn't know......(didn't ask).......

1. This cabin is in the boondocks down a one lane type gravel / dirt road that is fairly steep in places. There was no snow in Sevierville but there was about 3-4 inches at the cabin as it sorta sits at the foot of a mountain. I would recommend 4wd in the winter or if it's really rainy. It took us about 20 minutes to get there from Main Street in Sevierville. If you are looking for a true mountain woodsy cabin away from the attractions, this is it. There are back roads you can take to get to Dollywood and the outlet malls but they are one lane type roads. Not advisable after dark (owner left directions in the cabin which also stated this fact).

2. These cabins have well water. We didn't know / not on their website.

3. Our hot tub had some gritty type dirt in the bottom that was clearly visible as soon as we took the cover off to inspect it. Everything else looked super clean.

4. You will be asked to sign a 2 page rental agreement when you arrive at your cabin and on this agreement it lists the various fees and rental stipulations that are not mentioned on the website or in the original emails. These deal with damage fees, extra person fees, dealing with trash, malfunction and power outage stipulations, etc.


So I have to give this cabin a mixed review. Had the hot tub been working we would have probablly stayed. We thought the cabin was cute. I was totally bummed.

The bad parts were the non- operational hot tub with gritty dirt in the bottom, the distance from Sevierville/attractions, and the discovery of well water (which might not be a big deal to some people).

The good things were that the owner is REALLY nice, the cabin is cute, the jacuzzi tub looked nice, there is a projector/big screen to watch TV on, a cute little electric fireplace, and the snow was absolutely beautiful.

*We spoke with the owner today and found out that the hot tub's heater core had gone bad---she's had it fixed---so it really was not anything we did or that could have been prevented. She apologized for our inconvenience. That is something you won't often find at other rental companies.*

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews