We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place, great people, laidback town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blanco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blanco Settlement
Reviewed 20 March 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Blanco Settlement from March 15-17,2017. The view of the water was beatuful and very relaxing. We sat on the back porch in the evening and watched the sunset and listened to the sound of the river. At dusk it was cool to watch the bats flying around. Later, as it got dark, we started a campfire in the fire pit . The night sky was amazing. You could see the stars so clearly. We met the owners, Joe and Mary, in the gift shop that they have on the property. We really enjoyed talking with them and getting to know how they came to purchase the property 3 years ago. The cabins were nicely decorated and comfortable. They had a booklet in the room with nearby resturants . We found that to be helpful and ate a a few of the places and they were good. We found everyone in the town to be really nice. I loved the small town feel of Blanco. We drove 20 minutes and went to Canyon Lake one day and ate at the Gristmill, which was nearby.This was our first time to visit Blanco and we will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: All the cabins are on the water and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T, Owner at The Blanco Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Mary, thank you so much for the great review. We enjoyed meeting you both, and hope you'll be back soon. One of the things I love most about having this place is getting to know folks like you. Your taking the time to write these nice things means a lot to us and our staff, and we truly appreciate you.
Come back soon,
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, 4 days this past weekend. The property is divided into 2 parts: the rv park and the cabin area. We stayed in cabins. Each cabin is individually decorated and not your typical riverside cabin. They are very well done. There is a kitchenette with faucets/sink, coffee maker, small fridge and microwave. There is a full bathroom with shower and jacuzzi tub. The cabins have a front porch and back porch, each with chairs. There is also a fire pit in the back with chairs. The river runs behind the cabins although it was low due to drought during our stay. We enjoyed sitting on porch in the morning enjoying coffee and around the fire pit (no fire, not cool enough weather). The office also has a cute gift shop with good merchandise and lots of bargain prices. We had a mix up with the rooms but management worked with us to resolve it. We did have a bit of trouble with tv's and wi fi but not enough to keep us away in the future. We will definitely go back! We had a relaxing and fun time. The property was first rate, the owners and staff were welcoming and accommodating, and the cabins were very comfortable. We can't wait to go there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank anniecat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T, Owner at The Blanco Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thank you for the great review. It was wonderful having you here, and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This is a quaint RV park with all the basics and a beautiful spot. If the river is flowing, you're in luck. Even when it's low you can find a pool or two to dip in. Great for kids. Our friends camped and had a 10 year old birthday party here and the management really didn't like the idea of having a party, but the hosts paid for all of our "parking places" considering we were not in RV's. They frowned upon the whole thing, but it turned out great. We've stayed here before in our RV, so I'm happy that the party was only "frowned upon" and not kicked out. The gift shop is awesome. Unusual items to be found. Really nice people run the place and we will camp and hopefully party here again soon (in the 10 year old sense.) And there are cabins to rent - they are cute from the outside. Can't speak to the experience.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank RoadschoolDream... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This place is a quiet little campground in Blanco. We loved the river, which was perfect for wading and swimming for our little ones (with life jackets). We built a fire in the pit and relaxed on their hammock. Johnson City is such a short drive that we drove over to the Exotic Ranch, which our kids loved. We enjoyed exploring the Hill Country that we've grown up near just about an hour and a half away. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This is the best place ever!!
We stayed for a week to visit my sister and family.
We were allowed to have a cookout by the river. And we walked in all the beautiful nature along the river. The beds were so comfortable. It can not be described as anything but perfect.
There was this black and white cat hanging around and loving on everyone....we called him George. I will miss him.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank debbylynn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Blanco Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blanco Settlement

Address: 1705 Ranch Road 165, Blanco, TX 78606-5455
Region: United States > Texas > Blanco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Blanco
Price Range: RM 372 - RM 548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blanco Settlement is nestled on 8 acres alongside the beautiful Blanco River. We have nine fully furnished, vintage-style cottages decorated with antique furniture, pillow-top beds, along with full bath and kitchenette. Windows on the riverside give you a wonderful view of wildlife and the river. Gentle breezes cool you on the porches of each cabin while you rock in the rocking chairs. In addition to our cottages, we have 20 pull thru RV sites for both 30 or 50 amp service. All sites have sewer, water, and electricity. Last but not least, we have a wonderful gift store on-site stocked with the latest trends and merchandise. Our location is in the center of the Texas Hill Country and you are only minutes away from Wimberley, Johnson City, Fredericksburg, and the amazing Texas Wine Country. Plus, we are just 45 minutes from Austin and San Antonio. So come see why a day on the river is worth a month in town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing