We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Road Ranch Resort
Ranked #44 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A wonderful place for a family vacation. You feel like you have stepped into the 1800's but very clean. We felt like we were the only people staying on the farm. I will definitely take my whole family for a vacation their. It is very close to Federicksburg, 2-3 miles outside of town. Close to alot of attractions. We didn't want to leave. The little extras were such a suprise, the stocked refrigerator and breakfast items. Thanks for creating this place, my husband was blow away and it made our 1st trip to Fredericksburg that much more special.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is a "Silo", it is not the place we stayed but before we left we peaked i...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIWereTheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for River Road Ranch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Silo for an anniversary trip. We made our reservations a few months before and during those months leading up to the trip we looked at the web site and read reviews many times in excitement and anticipation about our upcoming trip. We read so much about the hospitality and all there is to do on the ranch.

But, we were dissapointed. We saw our host only once, and she was not overly friendly. We had to ask other guests what we could and couldn't do. We had been excited to learn more about all the antiques and such, but we were left to explore them on our own. We kept expecting more hospitality, a tour, a meet-and-greet with the animals. But nothing. We had to do it all on our own. We kept wondering if there were rules, or if it really is just "do whatever you want". We were sad as we left and felt like we hadn't gotten the full experience.

Also, when we arrived the tub in the silo was VERY dirty. Since we couldn't find the owner, we had to go to Walmart and buy cleaning supplies and my husband cleaned the tub. After that, I had a hard time feeling like any part of the Silo was clean.

But, despite those issues, we had a good time. We LOVED riding the golf card and four-wheeler (once we figured out how to do that). We quickly bonded with Boots and we spent a lot of time with her. We loved seeing the animals and trying to get them to come say hi... though we were rarely successful.

It is a very unique place to stay with a lot to look at and experience, but we feel like our trip could have been so much better with some personal attention. The whole trip I wondered what we did wrong to not receive that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heytayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Feed Mill for the first time and loved it! The decor is perfect and similar to the Livery Stables which is another Fredericksburg favorite. The bed was comfortable and the large spa tub was awesome. Love the rescue animals.. a nice lab decided to come to the door and hang out for a while. The only complaint is there was a ton of smoke when the fireplace was going. Although a ton smoke was coming out the chimney, the same amount wasn't. Maybe it needed cleaned. Still, top notch... loved the muffins. Will probably try the silo next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Staying here is not inexpensive, but for the spaciousness and quality of the accommodations, I had few complaints. We stayed with friends in the Bunk House. There were two large bedrooms and bathrooms with every amenity one would expect of a fine resort villa. One major difference is the freedom of the ranch's resident animals, who will probably stop by for a visit (be sure to say "hi!" to Duke, the donkey). They're all friendly, however, and guests can almost always count on a few fresh eggs from the ranch's turkeys to make some Texas-sized omelettes in the morning.

There is plenty to do both on the ranch and in downtown Fredericksburg. Even though the two families included a total of four boys ranging in age from 6 to 12, not one of them reached for a Nintendo or iPad during our stay.

My family and I really enjoyed ourselves here, and we'll gladly return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MI_TravelFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed at The SIlo in River Road Ranch the weekend of September 28th. We were impressed with the care that went into the renovation and decoration of the Silo. The interior was spotless throughout. It was roomy and romantic with a large jacuzzi. It felt very private. We enjoyed taking early morning walks around the ranch and meeting the animals. A dog and cat escorted us. We met a pack of turkeys, an alpaca, a pair of llamas, many sheep and goats, some chickens , a donkey, and three longhorns. All of the animals were free range and tame. The Silo worked as a great home base to explore the many vineyards in the Hill Country. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The SIlo has a spiral staircase to a loft bedroom. It would not be a good choice for people who find...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aswitzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
7.4 km away
Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn
Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn
#58 of 82 in Fredericksburg
13 reviews
12.4 km away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 82 in Fredericksburg
139 reviews
6.8 km away
Austin Street Retreat
Austin Street Retreat
#24 of 82 in Fredericksburg
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 82 in Fredericksburg
17 reviews
9.4 km away
Rock House Hideaway
Rock House Hideaway
#50 of 82 in Fredericksburg
27 reviews
5.2 km away
Barons CreekSide
Barons CreekSide
#1 of 29 in Fredericksburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Ranch Resort

Address: 160 Glad Heart Trl, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5351
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: RM873 - RM1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Road Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Ranch Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing