We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Plain Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Road Ranch Resort
Ranked #44 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2015

My sisters and I stayed in the big house on our Sister Trip, Mini's Haus it was wonderful. Full of antiques and charm. They have done an amazing job of recreating an Old West Town right in the middle of Fredrecksburg. Loved seeing all of the animals. And the owners are supper nice and accommodating. Our only issue and they tried to work with us on that was the television was gong out and would go on and off when we watched movies. I'm sure by now they have fixed this issue. And the wifi did not work on our computers, did on phones. A lot of time and effort has gone into this great place.

Room Tip: Has wifi but could not ever get it to connect on our computers
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BeverlyShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for River Road Ranch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2015

Just back from a long weekend to Fredricksburg and we stayed in the bunkhouse which was very comfortable. A lot of thought had gone into making the guests comfortable. Nice items for a breakfast (coffee, milk, eggs, juice, cereal, etc.) were provided and outdoor grills were stocked with charcoal which we used in the evenings to cook while sitting out on the porch watching fireflys. It is located far enough from the downtown that you can enjoy the hill country yet close enough that it is easily accessible. It is not for the ultramodern or minimalist but the furnishings were comfortable and clean. The bunk house is perfect with two beds and 2 bathrooms, large great room and well provisioned kitchen. As mentioned nice porches. We all agreed that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

River Road Ranch Resort offers a variety of cabins for your group. Each one is carefully decorated with antiques. The property is ten minutes from downtown Fredericksburg - close enough to get in for a meal or other attractions and far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet of the Texas Hill Country.

The owners have added an enclosed event venue - perfect for a wedding, reunion or any kind of a party. The prices are fair and the owners are caring and helpful.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins at River Road Ranch Resort are excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirl1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

Just returned from our stay in the Silo with husband and my 2 girls (10 & 13). The location is 10 mins outside of Fredricksburg & 30 mins from Enchanted Rock! The silo is rustic with lots of knick knacks & old country decor but clean and comfortable. We saw Natalie, one of the owners briefly. We arrived a little earlier than the 3pm check in & she was just finishing her cleaning of the silo. She was nice but not overly friendly and told us where the river area was. (It's actually across the street.) The owners are a little less hands on than most B&B's but they seem to have everything efficiently planned out. For ex: breakfast for next morning already in fridge. S'mores supplies on counter. Firewood & lighter for bbq out & ready. If you're the type of guest that has a million questions or needs lots of attention, this is not the place for you! But back to our stay....favorite thing about this place was by far the animals! Many to pet and enjoy up close (cats, dogs, donkeys, goats) and some that we admired from afar (Longhorns, llamas, chickens, turkeys, sheep). While my kids are not babies and are capable of being quiet & low key, we loved that they were able to run around! It's a little tricky to determine what is/is not allowed here. There's a list of posted rules in the cabin (don't smoke inside, don't let animals inside cabin, wash your dishes) but nothing pertaining to the outside area. We quickly determined that if they don't want you in a particular area-there's "private" signs posted. Otherwise you're free to roam! We used the canoes & Kayaks twice. The river has no current and is small and I felt comfortable with my kids paddling around solo. I would just sit in one of the chairs on the rivers bank. There's a good collection of adult sized bikes. Most of which have seen better days (flat tires, bad brakes) but we found two that seemed adequate enough to get them to the river & back! My youngest is 10 and rather tall (5ft 1in) and she was at the edge of feeling comfortable riding the bikes. I only mention in the event you travel with kids of your own. I always do my homework and read past reviews on places we stay. So just to update a few things: during our stay, there were no quad bikes, four wheelers or golf cart available for riding around the grounds. So not an ideal place if you have physical limitations. Also, previous reviewers had mentioned "ranch hands" that would be around in the evening to start fires. Again, not the case during our stay. So we weren't sure if the owners would start fires or how it worked. When we returned from dinner @ dusk, there was firewood, lighters and fire starter blocks laid out by each communal Fire pit. Regarding the silo, definitely the most unique places we've stayed. I loved that there was a half bath on the bottom floor! The metal spiral staircase would have been a deal breaker if my kids were toddlers. Main bedroom upstairs was comfortable and mattress middle of the road (not overly hard/soft). Pillows very firm! Pull out couch downstairs was sufficient for kids but not adequate for most adults. Bedding for pull out was available but bring your own blanket! The fleece type blanket they had was small and seriously sandpaper gross! I felt terrible that one of my kids had to use it! So to sum it all up-would definitely recommend this place to all, but especially if you have kids! Bring your own blanket & pillows if you're staying in the silo & are traveling with more than 2 ppl! It's expensive for what you get but you're paying for the uniqueness.

Stayed: March 2015
1  Thank Courtland2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Just go somewhere else, this place actually detracted from our vacation. The sleeping accommodations are so bad, even my kids complained. The owner made my kids feel unwelcome and clearly does not want people looking at the animals, exploring the ranch, which is not how this place is advertised. The bedding and towels are limited and old. No daily cleaning. No soap. They even charge you if you leave dirty dishes--um, who is the customer?

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rainforestrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
7.4 km away
Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn
Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn
#58 of 82 in Fredericksburg
13 reviews
6.8 km away
Austin Street Retreat
Austin Street Retreat
#24 of 82 in Fredericksburg
39 reviews
12.4 km away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 82 in Fredericksburg
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
All Seasons Tanglewood Farms
All Seasons Tanglewood Farms
#42 of 82 in Fredericksburg
14 reviews
7.0 km away
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 82 in Fredericksburg
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Rocking Ox Gastehaus
Rocking Ox Gastehaus
#56 of 82 in Fredericksburg
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Ranch Resort

Address: 160 Glad Heart Trl, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5351
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: RM874 - RM1,021 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Road Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Ranch Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing