We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh and delicious Texmex”

Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina
Ranked #31 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This restaurant was new to my wife and I. We did not order their menu, but joined our travel companions as they were eating. We sampled their orders, and took home the left overs. The dishes were absolutely fresher, lighter, tastier version of Texmex food. We were sorry we didn't have the time to eat there, and can't wait til our next visit. Even the chips and salsa was a little different than what you expect at Mexican restaurants.I have one complaint, and that is about their margaritas. Their regular version margarita was a "margarita colored lime drink". Their "supreme" version was a really good margarita, but was in the $10 to 12 range. So if you're looking for a margarita don't mess with the regular.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much, Mike, for the great review! We're glad you could stop in and sample some of our menu with your friends. We pride ourselves on our margaritas so we'll check on that "regular" margarita. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We tried this place after reading the reviews on trip advisor! Highly recommend! Best Mexican food and wait staff on the island!

Thank Ginger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you so much, Ginger, for the excellent review and recommendation! We're so glad you found us and enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We made our first visit to Taquilo's after dropping off our son at TAMUG and it deserves the high rating it has on trip advisor. First, our server Roy was friendly, personable, and knowledgeable of the menu and the entire island!! Ask for his table if he's working. We started out with the queso with frozen margaritas for some in our party. The queso was really good and loaded with chunks of freshness. The margaritas were excellent as well and they have an abundance of margarita options. Our party had the fajita nachos and shrimp quesadillas. Both were very large portions and the shrimp quesadilla was loaded with shrimp. As a side we also had the freshly made guacamole and it was perfect. The atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice and I will definitely be back for a return visit!!

1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you, Don, for the great review and for sharing the details of your visit. Please let your son know we welcome him to the island! Sounds like you made some great choices and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We'll pass along your kind words to Roy and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

I have never had steak that good at a Mexican restaurant, definitely get the steak fajitas you won't be disappointed!

Thank Mitchum118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Great atmosphere - small place but large on good food and service. My wife, daughter and I have been there several times - our new favorite place for Mexican/Tex-Mex in Galveston. My daughter is in a wheelchair and they bend over backwards to accommodate her and her enchilada craving. Shrimp tacos are killer and best fajitas we've had anywhere. Great margaritas - especially mango and watermelon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you so much, Wayne, for the excellent review and for including great details! We're so glad your family enjoys visits to Taquilo's and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Taquilo's Tex-Mex Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing