We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and fun!!!”

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #22 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We went there for lunch and we sat at the bar (which is a must) because we wanted to see the steam pots and watch them make the different gumbos. We got to talk with the chief as he prepared our meal. The wait staff was super friendly too. If you are looking for great authentic cajun gumbo, this is the place to go.

Thank bkdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you so much for stopping in! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the gumbo and overall atmosphere! Thanks from the Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided to leave the city and get away to the island. The strand in Galveston is always fun to visit however, this day (after Labor Day) was very slow and relaxing. We both wanted a small lunch so we decided to ha a bowl of gumbo on the sidewalk in the strand. We had the seafood gumbo and it was loaded with shrimp, okra, oysters etc. very tasty and just right for lunch.

Thank 1CabanaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We're glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the seafood gumbo! We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks from the Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Food was terrific. Service was wonderful. I had the Waldorf salad with grilled chicken. We ate at one of the outside tables.

Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thanks for your great review, Howard! We hope to see you again soon! Thanks from the Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Seafood platter average w a lil too much seasoning, drowning the very good food; and the shrimp cocktail had the same overly salted, spicy, spicy problem. The etouffee tho delish needed adequate rice BADLY, then would have been perfect. I asked for bread and never received any so just dealt with the spiciness w tons of water. Bread or rolls a must w a great etouffee guys c'mon. The Po'Boy ok and finally the gumbo that was had was on point. Ordered one dessert and very disappointed, might work on that. Service staff nice but a bit lacking in checking up on her (their) customers, but very nice, making up for. The food good enough to go back, will just ask to tone down all the salt maybe :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you, Diana, for the four-star rating! We appreciate you sharing the details of your visit with us. We'll definitely share your comments with kitchen staff. Glad to hear you'll be back and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

This is a cute little restaurant with lots of characters. We enjoyed their little daddy seafood gumbo, and seafood cioppino. Delicious!!

Thank Oppsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for the amazing review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our seafood gumbo and cioppino! We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks from the Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing