We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Dinner With Friends”

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #30 of 324 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 February 2018

The Gumbo Bar has great oysters, both raw and cooked a variety of ways. The service is great. The seafood gumbo is outstanding with a variety of seafood in the soup. The portions are very large, so don't get the "large" bowl unless you are starving.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you Ronald! We are glad you liked the service and the Gumbo. Please come back and see us real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2018

We stop by for gumbo every Mardi Gras season. Having grown up in New Orleans, the flavor is a little different but still very enjoyable. The roux is darker than I'm use to and the seafood is added when ordered. For me that is a plus since I prefer only shrimp and crab in my gumbo. The garlic bread is a large order and very good especially with the gumbo. Service was also very good.

Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our gumbo and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

My wife and I had a couple of bowls of terrific gumbo and a nice draft beer for lunch. The poboys also sounded good but we didn't try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LesJoEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks for the review. We are very happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your lunch with us. We hop to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This was without a doubt the best Gumbo I have ever eaten. The roux was flavorful and the seafood plentiful. We had it with the garlic bread which was perfect for capturing every last drop in our bowls.

Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your great review Teresa! Please come back and see us for more garlic bread and gumbo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

To start the service was amazing. I’m sorry I didn’t get our servers name. She was short with blonde hair in a high bun. Thank you for being sweet and dealing with my difficult order with no complaints. Now for the food. My girlfriend got the half order of regular oysters which she loved. We also started with the NOLA Seafood Balls. Absolute best we’ve had so far. She decided on the Half and Half PoBoy; she chose Crawfish and Shrimp. I went for the Seafood platter; subbed my oysters out for extra shrimp, subbed my regular fries for sweet potato fries, and I went for grilled instead of fried. Everything was full of flavor! We will definitely be going back. We have absolutely no complaints.

Thank Kristyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you Kristyn! We are so happy you enjoyed the service and all the food! We loved to hear your flavorful high praise and we are looking forward to seeing you and your friend again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing