We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good!”
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
Ranked #31 of 322 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on our way home. Wanted breakfast. Didn’t have to wait too long even though they were super busy. We all enjoyed our food. Everything came out hot and fresh! The pancakes were huge and we were able to get a plate of three for our table and share. There were three ppl in our group. Would dine here again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much, for the great rating! We're so glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

I had the opportunity to visit this restaurant and I love it, the waitress she was very friendly and we order our appetizers and our dinner and everything came with no complains nor problems, we had to comeback another day because my daughter she wanted to try the Gumbo and some fried oysters, well I really recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dogedebordeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for the excellent review! We appreciate your kind words and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I came in today and were basically ignored. We ordered our appetizer, drinks and meal once we were ready. The appetizer and drinks came out fine but slowly we realized that we were of no concern to the staff. We watched table after table be served, eat and pay their bill before we finally flagged someone down for assistance (our server Jodie didn’t check on us one time after the drinks and appetizer was dropped off). When we informed a staff member of the issue the appeared to get into a heated conversation with our server and the cook. The staff member brought us a bill for the drinks and appetizer and never once apologized for us being ignored. We asked if they expected us to pay the bill (we assume they did since they dropped it off and walked away) but when we asked they said no. We Wales our never to return again. So many options in Galveston there is no need to waste vacation time here again.

1  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you, Jack, for taking the time to submit a review and give us your valuable feedback. We expect great things from our staff and what you have described does not sound like the stellar service we know we are capable of providing. We certainly never want anyone feeling they're being ignored, so for that we apologize. We'd like to look into this further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience and let me know what time you were at the Diner and if a manager came to your table to check on you at any time. I look forward to hearing from you, Karla (karla@galvestonrestaurantgroup.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Everything from the Bloody Mary to the fried shrimp.was AMAZING! This place will not disappoint. I will most definitely be coming back next time. Po boys will be next.

1  Thank Joni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for the great review, Joni! We are very happy to here you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

A small place on the Seawall, could easily be overlooked, but a family member had done her research and found this place. Don't let the looks fool you. Very good food, good service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RonaldGHanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Ronald, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you meal with us. We hope you come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing