We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats, No Frills”
Review of Nonno Tony's Seafood Kitchen - CLOSED

Nonno Tony's Seafood Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 17 October 2017

No ambiance, but the staff is super nice and the food was very good. We had the orange shrimp app, fresh and tasty, and the Cioppino (seafood stew, not gumbo) was delightful. The bread pudding was okay.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Nonno Tony's Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much Paul for taking the time to leave us this great review and share your experience. Happy to hear you enjoyed the orange shrimp and cioppino! We hope you'll come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and friendly service. We enjoyed mussels, risotto, meatballs, shrimp and pasta
Very friendly servers who took great pride in their work
We liked the first visit so many ch we cane back two weeks later

Thank Mary Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Located in the harbor district without a harbor view. Best news is that they have brought on the famous Luigi formerly of Luigi's in Galveston as their new chef. I am sure the menu will change, but in the meantime look for the specials. Service was good. The current menu is varied featuring seafood and Creole dishes.

Thank OldAg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

dishWe stopped in for the Gluten Free Pizza option & the Shrimp Cocktail that we have always gotten here in the past...

I have to say our waiter Justo was AWESOME! Such a nice guy! He took the best care of us! A really good asset to Nonno Tony's!

Now to the food... They have a new chef & while the menu is the same, the way some items are prepared are different... the Shrimp Cocktail was not like it was on past visits...while it was a very pretty dish, it was different. It was orange in color and while fresh & crunchy, it had a Cajun style taste to it. I didn't like it. My husband loved it, but I prefer just plain ol' boiled shrimp. So that was a disappointment to me.

I ordered the Gluten Free pizza & again....different crust than in the past & it was not good. Super thin & super hard to even cut or chew. The toppings were good... except the Artichoke Hearts...they were too large (and overwhelming) and they were over cooked...super soft (pushed those aside). The hubs got a regular pizza & he liked his.

The wine is served in frosty ice cold glasses which is nice touch! After dinner we ordered Bailey's and coffee as we sat enjoying the Wednesday night Live Music... it was good... but served as cup of coffee with a side shot of Baileys Irish cream... we just poured it into the coffee & we were set. After we got home & looked at our bill we were shocked to find out that the two Bailey's & Coffee's cost $24.50! YIKES!! Every thing else was priced about right...

The Live Music really was special and made it for a fun night. Maybe they should do it more than one night a week! There was a lively crowd (looked mostly like locals) dancing & singing all evening.

So while the food was not bad......it was just average for me...hubs loved it. The service was TOP NOTCH.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Nonno Tony's Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for the great review and for sharing the details of your experience with us. While we're glad to hear your husband enjoyed dinner, we're disappointed that you did not. We will check with the kitchen staff on the items you mention. We hope you'll come see us again soon. - Karla, karla@galvestonrestaurantgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Dee at the Harbor House suggested we go over for drinks and to enjoy the music. The drinks were delicious and the pizza. The performer learned it was our anniversary and actually walked over to our table and sang to us. It was really enjoyable and he was great. We will definitely go there again.

Thank JoyfulEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Nonno Tony's Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you so much for the excellent review! We're so glad you enjoyed dinner and drinks with us and were able to experience Mickey Hobbs. We think he and his music are great! Happy anniversary and we look forward so seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nonno Tony's Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing