We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front entrance Casa Tordesillas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance Casa Tordesillas
walking out of the forest towards the house Ready for breakfast with the rising sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Front entrance Casa Tordesillas
walking out of the forest towards the house
Ready for breakfast with the rising sun
Have a good sleep, simple but confortable
Breakfast is included
Morning sun into the living room
The geodesic dome for hollistic exercises
Candle lite dome
candle lite dinner
Candle lluminated entrance
Morning rise over the shire...the hamlet of Socorro de Platanares with the Talamanca Range in back
The waterfalls on the way dowsn to the beach
This swimming pool is about 1 hour hike from the house
Some of the nearby natural swimming pools
The area has many waterfalls, this one is about 15 minutes away from the house
A dive into cristal clear natural pool
A refresing 'shower' at one of the many nearby waterfall
We are located at the top of the ridge and a front view of the Bahia Ballena National Park
A large barrier reef forms the 'Whales Tail'
Some of the most beautiful beaches at Marino Ballena National Park
The ride to the beach
A horse back ride through the countryside
Bambu forest on the way to the beach
Out for a ride
The oldest house in the shire
A tipical sun rise over the Talamanca Range
And a special sun set over the Pacific Ocean
One of our semminars of sustainable practices, learning about geodesic domes
Students putting together a geodesic dome
One of the jungle paths in the property
Primary forest with in the property
A biological guided tour through the forest
Rural road to the beach
Since we dont have a motor vehicle, our regular transport is by horse
Marga & Chema bid you wellcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Aguas Buenas, Province of San Jose

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Tripman00...
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is one of the most amazing experiences that I have ever had on a vacation.
Chema were Marga made my son and I feel like one of their family.
Chema and Marge built the house by hand mostly from the material on their land. They have 5 bedrooms all fully equipped. My adult son and I were very comfortable in one bedroom. The house is in a cloud forest above Uvita Beach. Every day the clouds form in the mountains in a valley north and south of their home. The clouds enter their home almost every day. They go in one large door and exit another large door. It is a site to behold. There is a great vista on a nearby hill about 1000 feet from their home. You can see Uvita beach and the valley of forest and clouds at the 1000 M level. Giant birds glide over the valley with their wings catching the air in and out of the clouds. We were there in the so called dry season. There was not much rain. The Howler monkeys started howling in the morning. The vegetation was endless. Chema walked us about the property as he macheted the way for us in the Forest (jungle) that surrounds his property. They also have a large fire place that creates a great feeling at night.
We went sea kayaking at Uvita beach and went into some hidden caves. We had fresh coconut milk on the beach after our kayaking. It was macheted open by a local 12 year girl that then put a straw into it.
One day we went to a local stream and swam in a small natural pool. They have horses that are also amazing too. Every day Marga made us 3 tasty meals of the healthiest food imaginable. They have the most sincere respect for the sustainability of the forest and the earth and we will return soon to share their very special space. It is truly the land that time forgot and Chema exposed the magic to us.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The majic of their space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimyandc...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful and tranquil piece of paradise”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Peaceful and beautiful grounds. Same goes for the accommodations. Clean, quiet, and well kept. Delicious and healthy food. The hosts were very accommodating to us and our small baby. They have a good sense about when to check up on us, and when to give us our space. Marga and Chema are calming and wise. Rich oxygen, exciting jungle sounds, and magnificent views! Two sweet, gentle dogs are on security patrol.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Stunning views, warm hospitality and delicious food
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you for your visit, the few days you stayed with us where great.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smuggy123...
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chema and Marga live a unique lifestyle and I was privileged to experience it. Casa Tordesillas sits on acres of land with a view of the ocean on one side and the surrounding mountains on the other.
They invite you to help with he horses and with the gardening if you so desire and I did. There are beautiful hikes, natural pools and waterfalls to discover and then there is Marga's phenomenal cooking.
This is the best I've ever eaten in Costa Rica and probably one of the best ever in the world. When food is cooked with love and creativity, it touches your tastebuds in a whole new way.
I would return to Casa Tordesillas whenever I next have the opportunity as it is unique and once In a lifetime experience.

Date of stay: January 2015
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
APPLETON
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jan 2014
Thank you Kristy,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our place, it was great showing you arround and we do hope you and Chad will return.
Chema y Marga
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.