We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concert at Minute Maid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #124 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Concert at Minute Maid”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Took grandkids to a concert at Minute Maid and wanted a hotel within walking distance. Did not feel unsafe walking back after the concert ended around 11:30 PM. The hotel was typical Holiday Inn. The room was a little frayed around the edges with a really worn and dirty carpet, but breakfast was good. An added plus was nearby Discovery Green where the kids played in the park the next morning. The room was quiet even though the hotel is extremely close to I-45 and 59.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlynn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    125
    33
    20
    10
See reviews for
66
63
26
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We wanted something close to the Toyota Center and this works........but it is also just minutes from major freeways AND close to most downtown attractions. Great location. The place was also very clean and well kept with a spacious lobby. It was also in a very open location with police stopping in for breakfast every morning and coffee all day long. Clean and Safe. The rooms were large enough that our family felt comfortable all the time. No one had to move around if somebody else moved. They also had cookies and milk everyday at 4, nice gesture. But what saved us $40 every morning was the hot breakfast. I don't eat breakfast except on vacation. Every day I had cereal, bacon or sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy and either french toast or waffles. We left every day fortified. The staff was friendly and helpful. I don't ask a lot of a place, but this one surpassed my creature comfort requirements. Oh yeah there is a small indoor pool that others used and looked like fun and a small exercise room, but that's not what we were there for.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

All the other hotels were booked near where I needed to be on other side of downtown. Hotel was in an unsafe neighborhood. Room carpet looked dirty so didn't take my shoes off. Bathtub drain was clogged so I was standing in 6 inches of water before my shower was done.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobcat18793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

off the lobby at the Holiday Inn express, so we know the wi-fi, which is fast and free, is up and running. I just finished a delicious and complimentary breakfast and I'm relaxing with a cup of coffee waiting for my travel companion wake and join me for a day of sight seeing in Houston and the surrounding area. The facility is up to if not exceeding the high standards I'm used to when staying at Holiday Inns. My friend and I enjoyed a evening at Discovery Green and dinner at the Grove last night and had no issues walking the two, maybe two and a half blocks back to the hotel at 9:00P.M. Given the rates and overall performance of facility and staff my opinion is you can't do better for your vacation dollars.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsrobertsfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

While planning for a four-day non-business event, I reserved this HI-Express primarily because it offers free parking in spite of its downtown location. It was nice to pull in and without fail, access plenty of ground-level parking, one lot in front of the hotel and another fenced and gated behind. Easy walking distance to the Toyota Center and George Brown Convention Center. We never felt any more concerned for our safety on this end of downtown than we did anywhere else in the city. True to the brand, staff was genuinely helpful and responsive. We needed a roll-away bed one night, and it was available in spite of a very full house. Extra pillows and towels also provided with a smile and upon request. Warm cookies, lemonade and ample tasty breakfast offerings also were true to brand. Hotel is beautiful and updates were in progress. Workers were painting rooms and replacing furnishings. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but the area looked very nice -- natural stone waterfall and decking,lovely poolside furniture, all which may be brand new updates considering earlier guest comments. There were a few untidy areas, but I'm giving them a mulligan because it seemed related to work in progress. Occasionally on a non-smoking floor, I could smell smoke in the hallways. But in general, an overall pleasant stay and a good value for a downtown hotel. After all, they're all pricey but free parking is a big plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#122 of 510 in Houston
101 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Athens Hotel Suites
Athens Hotel Suites
#320 of 510 in Houston
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1810 Bell St, Houston, TX 77003-4206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Houston
#95 Business Hotel in Houston
Price range (per night): RM540 - RM952
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay anywhere else? Make The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Convention Center your first choice for your next trip to Houston, Texas. Located in beautiful downtown Houston one block from the Houston Toyota Center, Houston Rockets headquarters, and two blocks from the Houston Convention Center, Houston s biggest convention center. Astros fan? We are just 0.5 miles from Minute Maid Park and the Astros, 2 miles from the University of Houston, 3 miles from the Texas Medical Center, and 6 miles from Reliant Stadium. The Holiday Inn Express is within a mile of Exxon-Mobile, Chevron, Shell, Meridian, Lyondell, Planned Parent Hood, as well as restaurants and the Houston Theater District.In a hurry? Stop by our complimentary hot breakfast bar and pick up a warm cinnamon roll or a biscuit with gravy, or you can pick from our other favorite selections. Whether you are traveling to Houston for business or leisure our hotel accommodation has all of the must have amenities you expect and more: free parking, large heated pool, business center, fitness center, free wireless Internet access, ATM on site. Enjoy spacious guest rooms, incredibly friendly employees and service. We are sure that on your next trip, you will make Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites your first choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing