We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$320
US$302
StRegis.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$325
US$241
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
496
370
259
157
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
370
259
157
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalleria areaboutique hotelthe loopstarbucks coffeeshuttle servicerevolvescvsconciergecouchconferencefreeway
Filter
Updating list...
1,325 - 1,330 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This is a great hotel with good room and restaurant. The room itself is spacious enough for small sofa, writing table and large rectangular windows etc. TV system is good with pull outs mountings (tilt-swivel), wifi etc. Alarm clock with iPod docking (can charge iPhone as well). There are valet service and courtesy shuttle. I have issues with my room, the staff quickly moved me to another room with no question asked - thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LazyServer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Glad to hear that we were able to provide you with all the equipment to make your stay feel like a home. Thank you for your feedback!

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The staff is very helpful, professional and courteous. Valet parking is a nice touch in such a poor parking location so there is no worries for your vehicle. Located close to the great shopping in the Galleria area, this is a nice albeit a little bit of a splurge to stay at during the Christmas holiday madness.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cazzintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you found our staff to be helpful yet professional. It is always our intention to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Love Hotel Derek! The staff are so gracious and the location is perfect for Christmas shopping! Can't wait to return and see their renovations and enjoy the advantages Hotel Derek offers. Breakfast with Santa is scheduled for this weekend if you have young children. I know of two families planning to enjoy this fun event with their young children

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

We can’t wait for you to come back to visit us after our renovation is completed. Breakfast with Santa was absolutely a huge hit. Also, don’t forget to visit our Facebook page to check out the “Work in Progress Renovation Photos”.

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My friend and I were bridesmaids in our friends wedding and got the bride and groom a room here for $99. We thought it would be a great spot for them to retreat to after the fabulous wedding and house full of family. Someone else also arranged for them to have a car service. We arrived to check in for them and it was awesome! Check in was easy with no line. We go to the elevators and they have infused water which was great to have considering it was summertime. The room was exactly what we reserved - city view. It was awesome. We decorated it for the newly weds and went back to our car. We did call down to the front desk asking for scissors but no one came up as they were too busy to help us. We ended up down there to cut what we needed. We had the valet staff just hold the car out front as we weren't going to be long. It didn't cost anything thank goodness. The newly weds enjoyed the room tremendously and we couldn't be happier. I will definitely book more rooms here.

Room Tip: Cityview is the way to go!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmstennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

It is always our intention to make all of our guests experience perfect. Congratulation to the newly weds - I am glad to know that they enjoyed their stay with us at Hotel Derek! Looking forward to having you in future.

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The hotel was AMAZING! Great bar area, easily accessible to galleria and surrounding area. The girl friend and I enjoyed a weekend of shopping, dining, and great clubs and bars that were in the area. Which made the hotel PERFECT for all that we did the staff was impeccable! They catered to every one of our needs! Will totally be staying here again when we have date night again! Room was trendy, cozy, and most important....CLEAN!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for writing such lovely comment above. So glad to hear that you find our hotel to be PERFECT and that we have fulfilled all of your needs. Looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Live Well,

Shawn Gracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews