We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a Basic Downtown Hotel with some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #147 of 506 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just a Basic Downtown Hotel with some problems”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights here for U.S. Olympics Trials and Marathon. A tad far from the GWB, but close enough. It was nice they had a courtesy van to take us to a restaurant 2 miles away. The problems we had were: 1. The was some sort of septic smell from the toilet whenever we went into the room. Never went away. 2. The toilet always ran. 3. No breakfast included, but the Residence Inn which is attached get a free breakfast. 4. The hot water in the shower sounded like a machine gun. 5. No fridge.

So just a basic stay at a basic hotel which I would rate 3 stars and give it a 3 review.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcv2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    118
    73
    20
    11
See reviews for
36
37
29
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed there for a week in November, the staff was very nice and the hotel was in good repair. The people from the shuttle service they hire are wonderful and caring.

I ran into a small problem and needed to speak with manager. I had left my cell phone number three times. When I was finally able to get the staff to track him down his attitude was condescending and got worse from there. He was extremely confrontational.

It was in stark contrast to the rest of the staff. I left wondering how could they be so nice and he be so an abrasive confrontational.

My next trip back I stayed at Hotel Zaza, kind of a hipster hotel and loved it and it was within walking distance to the hospital. My stay was over 6 weeks this time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicely D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN DIEGO, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I was there for the MD Anderson Cancer Center Conference at the end of May. There weren't many people who flew in to attend the conference, but living in San Diego, Ca, there was no other choice - didn't want to drive 18+ hours one way. Anyway, we were greeted with the utmost kindess, could check in right away, and had a great room. The most awesome thing about the room - the shower! Yes, that's right, I'd stay at this hotel again, because they had awesome water pressure!!! And, the staff was incredible!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

3am phone rings 3 times, stops, 3:15 rings again for "wake up call for my flight" (I booked with a LARGE group - none with flights) I tell him under no uncertain terms did I have a wake up call and this would be the ONLY night my entire week I would have the time to sleep more than 5 hours and he continued to tell me there was a continential breakfast - I made it quite clear not to call back and hung up; 3:30 I get ANOTHER "wake up call" at which point we insisted on talking to his manager and after 5 minutes on the phone finally did not get another call. If you do not ask for the complimentary breakfast you will be charged, seems they were very unclear and would have charged for the complimentary shampoo bottles if possible. I could have overlooked the not soft towels, hair in the sink, and even the oddity of my car being valet parked in a different spot in the evening than it was that same morning in the garage (we got a jacket out) as well as a different radio station being programed and long wait, when we went to get it out....but cannot overlook being awakened in the middle of the night.... Lacking in security and staff competence I would recommend pretty much anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakechiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houston hotels

warwick Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Have recently returned to Australia after attending the Quilt Convention. We stayed at the Downtown Courtyard and my stay was made memorable by Gloria Zabak, one of the Shuttle bus drivers. She is a proud Texan and took great delight in telling me all about the Houston buildings etc. She is a fount of knowledge and really would make a wonderful tour guide. Thanks Gloria for making Houston come alive as a great city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#110 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#211 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 916 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320 (Formerly Courtyard Houston Downtown /Convention Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Houston
#142 Business Hotel in Houston
Price range (per night): RM449 - RM1,145
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old-style luxury and state-of-the-art technology converge at the recently-updated Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel just a 10-minute walk from the George R. Brown Convention Center. A true stand-out among downtown Houston hotels for our historical ambiance housed in the 1921 Humble Oil Building's neo-classical exterior with newly-renovated rooms equipped with modern amenities. Guests enjoy in-room perks such as free WiFi and HDTVs. The gem of our historic building is our renovated Presidential Suite. Originally the office to the Humble Oil CEO, we've updated this stunning suite with stylish furnishings while keeping the original marble fireplace. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro. Eat. Drink. Connect., Which offers guests food and beverage selections in the morning and new dinner service. Our downtown Houston hotel is within walking distance or a free shuttle ride to Minute Maid Park, Convention Center and Toyota Center. A short ride on the Metro Light Rail takes you to NRG Park and the Museum District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Downtown
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing