We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me”

Cool River Cafe - Dallas
Reserve with OpenTable
Cool River Cafe - Dallas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 583 Restaurants in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$55
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: MacArthur Blvd.
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Service at least from the server that I had was terrible other than that great restaurant beautiful decorated inside and they have a cigar room.

Thank theosmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Theo, we are so sorry you did not feel the service was where it should be. We take all reviews to heart and will work to make sure your next visit with us is a complete success!

We hope to have you in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Cool River Cafe - Dallas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We stopped in for a lunch - looking for something on the lighter side.

I had the Grilled Chicken Salad which was very good. The piece of chicken was large, well seasoned and not the least bit dry. The marinated red bell pepper strips added a nice flavor as well.

My husband had the III Forks Salad and added the chicken to his. He raved about the Maple Vinegarette Dressing.

It was on the expensive side for lunch, but we enjoyed the food and the service!

Thank tiffypics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2017

Tiff,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We just had Kent Rathbun in to re-imagine some of our menu options and we are so happy to hear that you loved them! We hope to have you and your husband in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Wow!! Great place from beginning to end. Valet parking, seated quickly, servers very attentive, food was excellent.

1  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 May 2017

Robin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are happy your group enjoyed the dinner and hope to have you all back in soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Cool River is a big place. The bar is huge, there is a cigar room, and the restaurant is a fair size.

There are some thing I like here and some I hate.

The bar allows smoking, and for this reason only, I never go here unless forced by a work event. If you hang out there for a couple of hours, you will go home with your clothes stinking. How they allow that when they have a large closeable cigar room is beyond me, in 2017.

Service at the bar is average because it is large and there never seems to be enough servers.

The food is actually quite good and service in the restaurant is good. However the prices are over the top. For a 6oz sirloin with no sides, it is $36. Now 6oz is very small.

So while I like the food, the combination of smoke, price, and poor service at the bar make me loath going there.

2  Thank MAJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 May 2017

Maj,

Thank you for the review - we are glad you always enjoy the food :)

We actually went non smoking in our bar area in September of last year, and we keep the Cigar Room smoking with closing doors! Also, our steak prices always include a side - we apologize for any confusion there! Hopefully you will stop back in soon to check out the new smoking policy in the bar and grab a few drinks. We look forward to having you back in soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

James and his staff took care of our group for a private party. Atmosphere is great at this place. It's huge but cozy at the same time. 2nd time we've been there this week! Highly recommended.

1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 April 2017

Bob - Thank you for the kind words and we will certainly pass your praises along to James. We look forward to having you back in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cool River Cafe - Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing