We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went Once, Never Again”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ardleigh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Crown in Colchester is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Friendly front of house staff, poor service from the kitchen. The food was not good and what was edible was overpriced. If you can't cope on a busy Easter Sunday afternoon you should not have so many covers. Will not be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RacingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Crown at Ardleigh. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us and that you are put off from returning. I believe that you did speak with the duty manager during your visit, but if you would like to speak with us in any further detail, then please don't hesitate to contact us on 01206 231946 and please ask to speak with either Natalie or Sam.

Kind regards
The Crown at Ardleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Long wait, cold food, soggy undercooked pancake Yorkshire pudding , veg swimming in warm water . For the price was terrible service not good either waited ages for drinks then turned up wrong , I would steer clear of this place. Avoid like the plague

Thank Clive-Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Clive and Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us on Easter Sunday at the Crown at Ardleigh. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us and that you are put off from returning. I believe that you did speak with the duty manager during your visit, but if you would like to speak with us in any further detail, then please don't hesitate to contact us on 01206 231946 and please ask to speak with either Natalie or Sam.

Kind regards
The Crown at Ardleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

I come here quite a lot and have to say that the food seems to improved dramatically over the last month. A new Head Chef? The food has always been good here, but I'm this place has definitely stepped up a notch with its food - keep it coming!!! It's just a shame that the waiters / waitresses seem to let themselves down time from time, but in general it's great!!!

Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Ted B, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Crown, Ardleigh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Had a very nice Sunday Roast, great variation to choose from and food very good. We last went to this place about 4 years ago and were not impressed then but this time was very good - It's all about the staff and service level so well done.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SPB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. We hope to see you again soon

Tim
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

My kids booked Mothers’ Day lunch for me as a surprise, it was our first visit, and what a lovely time we had. The staff could not be more pleasant, and worked really hard. There was a bit of a wait for our main meal, but don’t mind that at all as you know it is freshly cooked, we were in no rush, and when it arrived it tasted delicious. we all thoroughly enjoyed it, and such good value for money. Will definitely return.

Thank juliekdaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Julie K, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Crown, Ardleigh! We are so glad that you and your family had a lovely day on Mother's Day and I will pass on your comments to my team
Best Regards
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
Layer de la Haye, Colchester
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing