We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dabbs Railroad Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willow Point Resort(Buchanan Dam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Antlers Inn(Kingsland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Horseshoe Bay Resort(Horseshoe Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
15
5
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
5
0
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchbonnie and clydeb bsllano riverbed and breakfasthill countrybanksvictorianweddingbridgehouse
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We stayed at the Dabbs 10 years ago. Was an interesting
place. But now the new owner has restored the hotel and the place is wonderful. Tastefully decorated and charming.
Please give this B and B another chance. Our group enjoyed
the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Blondedoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Disregard any reviews of the Dabbs prior to 2007---it's not a hippie flop house anymore! The new owner has clearly sunk considerable funds and energy into completely remodeling and upgrading the hotel as a wedding, reunion, or special event facility. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, the interior tastefully remodeled. But it's still as laid back and charming as ever: metal lawn chairs on the porch, old photos on the walls inside. The decor is definitely NOT the "silk flowers and cherubs" style of most smaller town B & Bs.

5  Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2006

My wife and I wanted a romantic getaway and had heard about The Dabbs. We heard all this cool stuff about Bonnie and Clyde and how it was all Period with great bar-b qs and live music. We made the mistake of going there. It was one of the worst hotel experiences of my life. There was not enough light in the squallid little room to even play a game of scrabble. The bed made so much noise that romance was out of the question. And yes there were hoards of malnourished cats everywhere. I also recall being eaten alive by misquitos. THIS PLACE REALLY SUCKED! It was filthy, the bisquits and red eye gravy were nasty, The housekeepers graphic story of a tryst gone bad was truly sickening. Our stay was almost as bad as our stay at The Rock Cottages in Port Aransas. Too bad I did not know about Tripadvisor before taking those trips. Thanks, Skot

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SKOTPHREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2014dabbs, Manager at Dabbs Railroad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

This 1907 historic railroad hotel changed ownership in 2007 and was completely remodeled, renovated, and updated, while at the same time,still maintaining its historic railroad hotel charm. Reviews written prior to 2007 most likely could have been accurate, However today, one may should not consider those when choosing the hotel for an upcoming meeting, family event, or as a simple overnight getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

Proper attire to wear at the Dabbs should be patched bib overalls with a torn checkered shirt with long sleeves [no napkins]. A straw hat with at least two holes in it. An aged pair of combat boots with no laces. Top off your wear with a 12 inch piece of straw between your teeth. Pet owners there is no need to bring your pets as there are several dirty scrawny cats in and around the hotel. I guess it is cheaper to have alot of cats than buy a dish washer. As for the "cowboy breakfast" It would turn Hannibal Lexter off.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2006

Arrived with the family to find a dirty, fly infested smelly excuse for lodging. We coudn't even bring ourselves to stay the night after taking a shower in what has to be the darkest bathroom on the planet. A four watt night light to illuminate the room? All I can say is that unless you really want to go out of your way to experience squalor- steer claer of this dump!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mulepusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews