We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
2
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2014

Wisteria Garden Bed and Breakfast is perfect for our wonderful week in East Texas each summer while we attend a 4 day horseback riding camp in Marshall. As a mother of two young boys, it is very important for us to feel comfortable and safe while traveling without Dad over the summer vacation from school. Mary Lynn makes us feel like we are visiting family when we have stayed with her for the past four summers and some Wonderland of Lights in the winters as well. The children are accommodated with hearty breakfasts and comfortable beds. Most proprietors who serve meals on fine china and antique silver settings, would cringe at the thought of a 5 and a 3 year old boy dining with them. Not at Mary Lynn's table. She uses this opportunity to share her finest antiques with them and encourages their practice of what to do when a table is set with so many choices of silver to eat with. My boys are now 9 and almost 7 and still ask me how many more days until we see her again. Highly recommend your staying with her at Wisteria Garden Bed and Breakfast as a rare find in a child friendly B & B.

Room Tip: Depends if you are asking for Romantic, request the queen. If traveling with children, request the train room it is especially decorated and has twin beds.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LoveThumbprintcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This trip was in July - very hot in Texas. This house is on the corner close to downtown Marshall where there is a lot of shopping, and within walking distance. The room we had upstairs was very nice, but it was evident that there has been some water damage in the past. The proprietors were VERY friendly and hospitable. That night the room was freezing! We (the wife)captured a decorative quilt from the hall to be a little warmer. (Personally, I loved the nice cold air on the hot summer night!) Breakfast the next morning was very good and consisted of blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, link sausages, fruit, orange juice, coffee, and water. Friends that stayed in a hotel room were not as satisfied, and they paid a whole lot more than we did. Overall, this was a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Wisteria Garden B & B. The bed, room, & bath were all comfortable - like a home away from home. Mary Lynn made us feel welcomed. She prepared a very hearty and delicious breakfast. I had indicated a food allergy when we made our reservations and she made sure that there was plenty to eat (on my restricted diet). The location is perfect - right within walking distance of the cute shops and restaurants of downtown Marshall. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: we looked around at the whole house while we were there because we visited on an off night and no one else was there. All the room were nice and there's a couple of nice sitting areas outside the rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CindySH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

First I'll start with the Good - Gorgeous house. The room was nice, the bed was VERY comfortable, and the location was right off the main street through town which was wonderful for a stroll through the town to enjoy the Wonderland of Lights Christmas season. The breakfast was delicious. It was also quite affordable for a B&B.

The Bad - The room was very cold, and there was no way for us to heat the room. The hot water didn't last very long at all in the shower so there was no way to warm up. The lady that owns the place was out of town and her fill-in, although very sweet and friendly, was not a lot of help. One of the reasons we like B&B is because We usually like to get recommendations about local sights and sounds from the proprieters, but since the fill-in didn't live in the town at all, she didn't know anything about the town or restaurants. Not a big deal, but we were told by someone in town that the owner is out-of-town a lot.

That being said, the only real complaint was the temperature in the room and the lack of hot water..which I don't understand, because we were told that every bathroom had its own water heater. The overall experience was just too cold for our tastes.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank troyandnetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews