We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great chicken and beans. hard to find bbq chicken in s. texas”
Review of Ramos BBQ

Ramos BBQ
Ranked #211 of 522 Restaurants in McAllen
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 February 2018

go there every time we visit family in edinburg. great people. my wife had enough Mexican food and wanted something different. bbq chicken hit the spot. they even made her a salad even though it wasn't on the menu. that's service! beans are first rate. sampled my brother's brisket and it was very tasty.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016

We arrived ready to eat some good south Texas BBQ. What we found was two guys ready to leave. They served us fair food and left as soon as we got up to leave. The building needs some fixing up ad well.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank 20BigAL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We stopped at Ramos for BBQ but it being a Friday night they had fish and chips. That is something we hadn't had for a while so we decided to have it instead of the BBQ. The fish was very fresh and the plate was full of chips, beans, and rice. What a combination but it was really good. There was so much on the plate that we had to take some home. We have to go back and try the BBQ. They also have specials Monday to Friday until 2pm and they are only $5.00

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAYLEL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

The flavor of the sauce really compliments the meat. I loved the lights and vibe inside, it's small but cute. Good bbq, definitely worth stopping by:)

Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The plate is standard fare for a charity bar b que. the beans and potato salad are fine. The meat is tasty but fatty and grisiley. The chicken is OK. If someone is raising money selling a plate, its great, if you are out for Bar B QUe, there are more savory options.

Date of visit: December 2013
Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ramos BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing