We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Le Domaine du Golf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ammerschwihr
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We are a family with two young kids, so prefer the self catering kind of getaway and the apartment was perfect for the four of us. Had a double bed for the parents and a sofa bed which the kids slept on. The kitchen was basic with a microwave and a stove and all equipment for the kitchen provided. You do need to take your own dishwashing liquid etc and as with most French self catering places, you need to clean up after yourself when you leave. There is free wifi available and although we were only there for one night, we also managed to use the indoor pool, which was well maintained.

We were only there for one night but as we would like to explore the area more, we have booked another 4 nights in April. It is good value for money, the apartments are basic, yet clean and would recommend this for self catering getaways.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rooi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2015

Stayed here from 30 Apr-03 May for a wine tasting/family holiday. The apartment was spacious for French (Alsace) standard. Equipped as expected.

Pros:
- Location is great as long as you have a car. Situated in the middle of wine route. Easy to visit vineyards to both the north/south.
- Swimming pool is great for the kids. Not a huge pool but fine for the daily dip. Remember to tell your kids to show courtesy for other swimmers/guests. Great with sauna after a swim.
- The view is just beautiful, with the mountains, golf courses greens, vineyards. Lovely with the balcony.
- Staff was very friendly and helpful to let us check out prior to opening hrs. She came 30 min early and was already stressed due to breakfast mixup, but took her time to help us check out so we could drive off to Denmark.

Cons:
- Recommend a car to get around as the hotel is situated up a mountain (15min walk to Ammerschwihr).
- Limited opening hrs in the reception. You will have to coordinate checkin/out with reception if you are arriving or leaving early/late.
- French style blanket was cold, missed a duvet due to cold nights. Also bed is 140cm wide...quite small and side is sloping. I was close to rolling out of the bed.
- Remember to bring your own duvet, toiletpaper (1 roll supplied), dishwasher tabs, cleaning products.

All in all, value for money is great here. Ideal location and great for kids. We will return probably already in the fall with our parent in-laws.

Here's a list of Wine Houses I can recommend in the area:
* Domaine Albert Boxler - 78 Rue des Trois Épis, 68230 Niedermorschwihr, France
* Domaine Sipp Mack - 1 Rue des Vosges, 68150 Hunawihr, France
* Domaine Bott-Geyl - 1 Rue du Petit Château, 68980 Beblenheim, France

Also if you want to visit a truly authentic, charming, and alsatian restaurant this is a MUST VISIT (11km from the hotel - 29min due to mountain roads :-) :
* Auberge Saint-Alexis - Lieu-dit St Alexis, 68240 Kaysersberg, France

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PistoleroPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

... so, if you know that's what you're looking for, it's fine. Be prepared to do your own cleaning, cooking, bring your own soap, shampoo, hairdryer, dishwashing liquid or tablets etc. The bedcovers are "traditional French style": a blanket and a sheet. If you want to have enough space, towels, bed linen and a double bed as a couple, book a bigger apartment than you would basically need!

This said, we enjoyed our stay in a nice apartment. There was some noise from the golfers (we aren't) but otherwise it was a good location. The staff was friendly and welcoming; one lady even spoke German. Wifi is currently available at the lobby only, which had the nice by-effect of people meeting there in the evening. We didn't use the swimmingpool or the fitness room, so no comment on this. If you're looking for this kind of accommodation and don't expect a 4 * hotel (which it definitely isn't), it's certainly worth a try.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here end of July 2014. Unfortunately the weather was very bad, but we could use the pool. At least until 19 o clock, because then they close it
The rooms and beds are pretty basic and the only reason they have 4 stars is probably because of the pool and the golf. The rooms are 3 stars.
Be careful for your arrival time because reception is only open between 4 pm and 7 pm. Don't know if anyone can be reached afterwards.
There is no restaurant but they have a bakery service. Order before 6:30 pm and they deliver at your door before 8 am.
Price quality is ok, but we expected more from a residence with pool next to a golf court.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ziggy1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

On a business trip in the area, booked a 3 night stay and really enjoyed it. The apt was fairly spacious and clean. well organized with a full kitchen and bathroom. nice view from the balcony overlooking the golf course. sheets and towels provided but no soap or amenities to be found,. also the reception is open only on certain hours so it depends on the time of day or night you arrive, you may find the place closed. make no sense but that´s how they have it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billyarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammerschwihr
4.8 km away
Les Rives de la Fecht
Les Rives de la Fecht
#1 of 1 in Ingersheim
316 reviews
7.9 km away
Ibis Styles Colmar Nord
Ibis Styles Colmar Nord
#21 of 39 in Colmar
742 reviews
5.8 km away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach
Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach
#2 of 3 in Kientzheim
189 reviews
2.1 km away
Logis Hotel les Remparts
Logis Hotel les Remparts
#2 of 5 in Kaysersberg
248 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Constantin
Hotel Constantin
#4 of 5 in Kaysersberg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Domaine du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Domaine du Golf

Address: 4 allee du Golf | Ammerschwihr, 68770 Ammerschwihr, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Ammerschwihr
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ammerschwihr
Price Range: RM251 - RM986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Le Domaine du Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Le Domaine du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Domaine Du Golf Hotel Ammerschwihr
Residence Le Domaine Du Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing