We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Les Balcons Village(Macot-la-Plagne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Carlina(Macot-la-Plagne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances(Macot-la-Plagne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Cocoon(Macot-la-Plagne)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
114
60
27
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
60
27
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapartments are spaciousbakery servicehigher apartmentsself catering holidayski accommodationplagne centreboot roomtrain stationspa areala plagnesame blockspar supermarketpool tablebutton lifteach morningexcellent locationend of the day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Very good accommodation in Plagne Soleil with good kitchen facilities (dishwasher, toaster, cooker, microwave) and comfortable beds, sofas and chairs. The apartments are spacious and comfortable with excellent facilities. The swimming pool and spa area are outstanding and we used these every afternoon after a hard day on the slopes. Hotel restaurant very good too.

This property is suited for those wanting a peaceful base to explore La Plagne and you can ski in/ski out if you have basic skiing skills.

We hired our skies from Ski Republic at La Plagne Center which saved us a lot of money (approx. 150 euros) compared to the ski shop next to the apartments. Although it was a hassle carrying them on the shuttle bus it was worth it for the savings. This was prebooked in the UK.

However there were a few minor points that let it down. The check in was 5pm which after travelling for hours with children is just too late, particularly as you check out at 10am. This means cleaners have a 7 hour turn around which just seems ridiculous, particularly as guests are asked to strip beds, clean the kitchenette area and take rubbish out themselves to get there 400E deposit back. In all the hotels/apartments I have ever stayed at standard check in is normally between 2pm - 4pm. We stayed in the Basile chalet which required us taking 3 different lifts. We were given a map at reception but the signs were extremely confusing and hard to follow after a long journey and carrying heavy suitcases. For a 4 star property it seems a shame no assistance is offered in carrying luggage and showing you to your room. This would create a much better first impression and far less stressful, particularly when travelling with children. Also for the price you pay swimming towels should be provided and extra towels given rather than a mean 1 towel per person for a whole week, without paying extra for the privilege.

However we would stay here again due to the location and high standard of the apartments, but it is a pity it lets itself down on minor things which could so easily be resolved, particularly on the check in.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles H, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at CGH Les Granges du Soleil on TripAdvisor.

We are very please to read that the apartment and residence's facilities were up to your expectations. Like you did most of our customers really enjoy the swimming pool as well as hammam sauna and jacuzzi. May I suggest you to have a relaxing massage at our Spa next time you visit us ;-)

The ski shop located at Plagne Soleil is not part of the residence even if it is very close to it. However it usually offers a discount to our customers which may make it worth hiring skies from it.

Because all customers usually depart at the same time and some may subscribe to late check-out option it is difficult for us to clean all apartments in a short time. That is why apartments are available from 5pm. In case you know that you will check-in early on Saturday I invite you to ask for the early check-in option which allows you to get your keys from 1pm (must be prebooked).

We will of course consider your comments and try to improve signs and indications to reach the chalets even if we put some at all strategic points.

Once again thank you for choosing CGH we are looking forward to welcoming you next winter.

Best Regards,

Gilles H, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Booked 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment, near swimming pool and requested south facing balcony for 2 persons for myself and husband for 2 weeks(my son was visiting for a few days during our stay). Arrived at noon only to be told room not ready and could not have keys until 5pm, had 5 hours to kill, girls on reception suggested that I might like to ski and was offered dual sex toilets as a changing room, this was not appealing. Girls at reception watched us waiting , could have tried to speed up cleaners for our room, they didn't bother. Room keys handed out at 5pm on the dot. Arrived at room different spec, 2 beds and 1 bathroom. So after 5 hours waiting was really frustrated. Returned to reception to request correctly booked room with 2 beds and 2 bathrooms only to be asked by reception girl why I needed 2 bathrooms, we were only 2 people so one bathroom was surely enough. Suggested I see the manager, who appeared after half hour, manager very pleasant and finally we were moved to the correctly booked room with south facing balcony. Was not a good start to the holiday.
Apartments are adequately fitted out but the furniture is very uncomfortable and the BBC disappeared from the TV after 3 days and was not repaired so no TV for 10 days. The apartments are ski in and ski out and ski area of La Plagne is fab, but there are better places to stay and Le Grange Du Soleil apartments are not a place to be revisited.

Room Tip: try somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lynn campbell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles H, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your stay at Les Granges du Soleil.

First of all I deeply regret that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations.

As mentioned in our renting conditions apartments are ready from 5pm.

Each week several customers subscribe to the early check-in option so we have to give priority to their apartment's cleaning.

To make your waiting time more enjoyable we provide free hot and cold drinks at reception, a children corner for family, as well as luggage storage place so you can enjoy the resort on Saturday afternoon.

Most of our customers have wishes about apartment's features and exposure. We always try to satisfy all our guest depending on available accommodations.

Regarding your stay we initially allotted a south exposure apartment with a nice view on the upper level near the swimming-pool.

As soon as I was informed of your dissatisfaction I came to you and offer you to switch to another apartment (previously visited together).

Regarding TV equipment we do provide several international channels including BBC. Because of big snow falls the satellite reception has been lost for 72 hours. After we fixed it we checked several apartments to confirm that everything was in order and had no complain neither from other customers nor you.

Our staff always do their best to meet the demands of our customers, and it is not always easy at the lack of etiquette and aggressiveness of some of them.


I do hope that you will find a convenient place for your next stay at La Plagne.
Best Regards.

Gilles H, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

We had apartment A1 which was large and on the ski in ski out level. We enyoied the restaurant and all the services are at walking distance. The reception is very helpfull and the apartment was clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: A1 one is also at entry level so you hear everybody return from the slopes
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BartJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles H, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We really appreciate your comments about CGH Les Granges du Soleil.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Excellent. The apartment was charming and we enjoyed our stay. The weather was pleasant and the swimming pool very nice. Affordable prices for the week and the hotel is one of more quaint of La Plagne. I recommend it with no doubts.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cocob_75015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles H, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positve comments about our residence in La Plagne.

We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your holidays at CGH Les Granges du Soleil.

Hope to see you again next year!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

This residence is matching with the standard set by MGM and CGH: high ! Public areas or appartments are beautifully decorated (interior design, cosy). A very comfortable stay. Location of the residence is ideal. Very well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful / efficient.

Room Tip: We are talking about apartments here and when you book, you select a category, not a dedicated apartment as such. Each of them has more advantages than disadvantages.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JMDNeuch_tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles H, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2015

Dear Customer,

All the members of our team are thankful for your nice comments.

We also wish to welcome you again next year!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews