We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised, very poor for children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Reviewed 8 June 2017

The location was ideal, the food was good and the staff were friendly, but there were some real drawbacks. There is nothing to do for children, no entertainment team or kid's club, you simply borrow a key to the kids club room! The entertainment was very poor, Bingo one night, the Champions League another (the local pub had the champions league, then a singer, then karaoke on the same night), or a disco where children's requested songs weren't played. Being all-inclusive meant you needed to go out and spend additional money to keep you occupied. If our daughter hadn't made one really good friend she'd have had a miserable holiday, it's not geared towards children at all and is skewed to the elderly. All inclusive also seems to be new to the hotel and they can't cope with it, too few staff and limited to two drinks per order from certain staff (not ideal when there are three of you!) and all drinks only available via the bar, even water. The gym is good, but again no water available there either! Also the spa and indoor pool were not open, despite being advertised on their website. Not what we expected at all. The site said family friendly so we weren't happy, thankfully the weather was good and the other positives stopped it being a disaster.

Room Tip: Not for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Despite the great location, the hotel itself is rather bad. The rooms are very old and very small, even if you ask for another room it doesn't help. The view is terrible, both rooms we were staying in had a view on the wall and backyard. The toilet and the bathroom were in the terrible condition and covered with rust. The furniture is also very old and bad quality.

The food is another issue as well as the service. Almost no vegan/vegetarian options available, even the vegetables were cooked together with meat/bacon. Also if you're not an All-Incl. guest but HB, you have to pay for still water while having a dinner. So you have to be aware of it.

The Wifi is only available in Lobby, but the signal is very poor. Almost everything needs extra payment (safe, wifi, use of computers at the reception, key for the parking, additional towels, etc).

All the day-trips/boat trips they are offering are double-priced, so I do recommend you to do your own research and better book the day-tours in town.

There are also some minor issues apart from all the above. All in all, I won't recommend you to stay in this hotel. If you're looking for 4-star service you won't find it here. It's a very low/middle level hotel 2.5-3 stars max. So huge No-No.

Room Tip: You have to be careful while choosing the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nastygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here.
all the staff was very friendly and super helpful, no matter what kind of question or minor problem we had.
room was nice, pretty big and clean with a big balcony. if you're a very light sleeper the walls might be a bit thin for you but that's not a surprise, you're in the south.
food was very good as well, lots of choices and very good. the drinks are a bit overpriced (3€ bottle of wine for 16€ - sure it's a lovely wine and that's normal but I was a bit shocked by that huge price difference)..
internet in the lobby is free and you can buy internet for your device.
pool area looked nice but wasn't open yet when we were there.
there is a little bus stop right outside the hotel and the big bus stop is only a 5 minute walk away, the beach and the town centre are only a little walk away.
perfect town if you wanna explore the island in a rental car, you're super close to all the important roads - and i highly recommend going on a road trip while you're on mallorca, it was absolutely beautiful. the hotel helps with rental cars as well if needed.
all in all, we had a good time there!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Elli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

The hotel is very good. Very clean and well presented. The staff are brilliant nothing is too much trouble.
The location is good only ten minutes walk to the centre and similar to the great beach.
The free wifi is limited to the reception area only and is very slow.
The food , well, it's a buffet, the choice is good, the quality is good but it is ALL COLD every item at every meal. I am still here and have been here three days now on half board and I am still trying to find enough hot food to make a hot meal. It is such a shame that this lovely hotel is totally ruined by their inability to keep food hot. Unfortunately complaining doesn't improve things I have tried .

Room Tip: Front above reception second floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lawryw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Excellent place for a short break, we went with 11 friends for a short weekend break and the location of the hotel was ideal. Lovely clean hotel nothing was to much trouble, friendly staff and good food.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.7 km away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
0.1 km away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
465 reviews
0.6 km away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#33 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,896 reviews
0.4 km away
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
#31 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
61 reviews
0.2 km away
Ona Surfing Playa
Ona Surfing Playa
#24 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Hotel

Address: Avda. Jaime I, 74, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: RM281 - RM953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia del Sol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bahia del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa
Sol Hotel Bahia Del
Bahia Del Sol Santa Ponsa
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing