We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4* hotel- Very Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We have just returned after a 5 night stay half board. This review will make it out like this is the worst hotel ever but its not, it just was not worth the money that we paid.

on arrival we were greeted by a rude receptionist that had no interest. she advised us that we had been booked into a room with a double bed instead of 2 single which we chose to accept as she told us the view was great. our view was of 3 big red ugly buildings with no sunshine until late afternoon. we were on the 6th floor which meant we had to get the elevator to level 3, walk a long Stop correcting corridor to the next elevator and go up another 3 levels... not great when you have heavy cases. the room itself was ok, if it was a 3* apartment. the room was small, the walls were cracked, peeling and dirty, lamp hanging off wall, cold/like warm shower, the shower sealant was mouldy,1 English channel on tv, no mini bar as advertised and we were bitten several times on the first night, we then found ants under the bed although this was rectified vey quickly with a cleaner arriving within 5 minutes to change the sheets and spray with insect killer.

Now the food is acceptable if your the kind of person that eats for the sake of being full but if you like to enjoy your food- find somewhere else. Same goes for the entertainment (when on)- find somewhere else. you'll need to walk a good 15-20 minutes before you find good lively bars and entertainment which didn't bother us as we were just there to relax so the little cafes and quiet pubs did us fine- check out the Scottish corner if you have kids and don't want to walk far.

If you do choose to stay inside the hotel the entire holiday, go all inclusive as the drinks are pricey. 2 alcoholic drinks cost us 14 euros. the pool area is very busy and for some 'luxury' sunbeds you have to pay extra. if you don't lie pools hounded by kids go to the 3rd floor to the corridor with an aqua theme and you'll find a little fire exit door that leads to another pool which is very quiet, we spent most of our holiday at that pool.

If your looking for spa facilities, don't bother, they don't exist unless you just want a massage then the reception will call someone to come in from another salon and do it in a small room. but anyway, all in all its not a bad hotel but it is not worth what you pay for it and definitely NOT worth 4 stars

Room Tip: Try get a rom on the 1st 3 floors to avoid a lng trip to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Shauna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

The start to our holiday atBahia del Sol Hotel was the lowest point and not how we hope it to be. on arrival at midnight, presenting our paperwork, only to be told we did not have a reservation and they were full!! This was our introduction to 'Monika' the sour faced receptionist who didn't possess one ounce of customer service abilities or initiative, let alone compassion or a heart!! We were eventually offered a tiny double room for 3 adults; we asked for a 'put me up' bed, but Monika told us she was the only one in the hotel (209 bedroom!!!) so couldn't look - in fact, not one offer of ANY help, she just barked that we would need to phone our agent the following day to sort! We took the room in view of the now early rooms, and dreaded spending the following day sorting this whole sorry mess. Praise be!! The following morning, sour Monika had left and we were presented with a completely different 'smiling', helpful face (perhaps she ought to teach vinegar t**s a few lessons, then I would have no need to leave these negative comments!! Our new room we lovely, modern, meticulously clean and had a gorgeous sea view....& we were in there by 9 am.....which makes you questions Monica's 'No room' comment??
Now, back to the holiday we hoped for....the hotel is out he wise lovely, and nicely located with easy access to the beaches. The food was good, although some strange items on offer but we accept they cater for a variety of nationalities - plenty you of selection for anyone and good quality.
On a slight negative, the evening entertainment was not too exciting and was all done by 10 ish & absolutely no music or entertainment around the pool area in the daytime....surely a few tunes wouldn't go amiss when you're on holiday.
My recommendation to the management of this hotel as a matter of priority would be to get rid of miserable, unhelpful Monika (I understand from other visitors they had also had similar treatment!) - customer service should always be top priority! Secondly, improve on the daytime and evening entertainment, then you would be on a winner!
Travellers going or considering this hotel - when you walk to reception, check the name badge, if it say MONIKA - fasten your set belts and expect a frosty reception!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Bondie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We stayed in the Bahia del Sol for 10 days I was really disappointed with the room we were given it was in the back of the hotel almost an annex!! To get there with our cases we had to take a lift to the third floor and then a walk and another lift to the second floor our room was situate next to the lift that seemed was in constant use during the night. Our view was of a road I was very disappointed to say the least and after reading other reviews I should have complained and I may have been moved. The only redeeming feature was the fab pool that was hardly used by the residents of the main part of the hotel so it was great, a peaceful sun trap, but a long walk for drinks.
The restaurant food was good with selection of hot and cold foods the staff were lovely and worked really hard to ensure that the place was clean, and they were very friendly.
The bar staff also were excellent and provided table service on a night and when I mentioned to Antonio that it was my birthday he asked if I had been given bubbly in my room and when I said I hadn't he kindly sorted a bottle of Cava for me.
One of my complaints is the sunbeds hard to get by the main pool actually being reserved from 6.30am !
The hotel is well situated to travel to Palma nova, Palma or the quaint town of Pegera with a well run bus service.
A must is the sunset fabulous views from the roof top terraces.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank j0sie564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Avoid if you want a nice holiday , just take my word , food awful , drinks worse , only good point indoor pool , worst they allow the local Spanish families to use the facilities and ruin the all inc paying guests peace .

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank movaco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Love this hotel can't wait to come back. Great location great food and great facilities. Heaven on earth. Couldn't recommend it more to families. Lovely and efficient staff. No need to leave this complex once you arrive here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Geraldine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
1.1 km away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,897 reviews
0.7 km away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#10 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
468 reviews
0.6 km away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#33 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,615 reviews
0.1 km away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
466 reviews
0.4 km away
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
#31 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Hotel

Address: Avda. Jaime I, 74, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: RM 271 - RM 832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia del Sol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bahia del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa
Sol Hotel Bahia Del
Bahia Del Sol Santa Ponsa
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing